Book of Numbers

Book of Numbers

Hope Clarke
Director: Raymond St. Jacques Cast: Hope Clarke
Hope Clarke
, Doug Finell
Doug Finell
, Irma P. Hall
Irma P. Hall
Raymond St. Jacques


$13.64 $14.99 Save 9% Current price is $13.64, Original price is $14.99. You Save 9%.


Raymond St. Jacques both directs and stars in The Book of Numbers. St. Jacques and Philip Thomas play depression-era African Americans, barely making out an existence as waiters in a deep-south community. Both men decide that there's more money to be had on the shadier side of the law, so they set up a successful rural numbers racket. All goes well until the operation attracts the attention of white crime boss Gilbert Greene. Though no one is particularly admirable in The Book of Numbers, the audience remains firmly on the side of the black characters, if only by default. The film was based on a novel by Robert Dean Phaar.

Product Details

Release Date: 01/08/2008
UPC: 0018619757291
Original Release: 1973
Rating: R
Source: Jef Films
Region Code: 0
Time: 1:21:00

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Hope Clarke Pigmeat Goins
Doug Finell Eggy
Irma P. Hall Georgia Brown
Charles Lewis Goon
Ray McDonald Actor
Frank DeSal Carlos
Raymond St. Jacques Blueboy Harris
Philip Michael Thomas Dave Greene
Freda Payne Kelly Simms
Willie Washington Makepeace
D'Urville Martin Billy Bowlegs
C.L. Williams Blip Blip
Jerry Leon Joe Gaines
Gilbert Green Antoine
Reginald T. Dorsey June Bug
Sterling St. Jacques Actor
Dan Owens Actor
David Magnuson Actor

Technical Credits
Raymond St. Jacques Director,Producer
Brownie McGhee Score Composer
Gayne Rescher Cinematographer
Irving Rosenblum Editor
Al Schuckman Score Composer
Al Shackman Score Composer
Bob Shepherd Art Director
Larry Spiegel Screenwriter
Sonny Terry Score Composer
Gregory Valtierra Sound/Sound Designer

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Book of Numbers
1. Waiters [5:02]
2. El Dorado [7:03]
3. Rollin' [9:37]
4. Trouble [8:41]
5. Kelly [6:11]
6. Killings [2:17]
7. The Klan [9:06]
8. A Ride [4:02]
9. A Plea [3:30]
10. Busted [6:37]
11. Trial [10:14]
12. Tragedy [8:38]

Customer Reviews