Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Thursday, September 28 , Order now and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.


Breaking Upwards

Their marriage turning stifling after just four years, a young New York couple attempts to escape their ennui by carefully strategizing their own breakup. Blurring the lines between fiction and reality, real-life couple Daryl Wein and Zoe Lister-Jones star as themselves in order to offer an unguarded exploration of young love, lust, and the hardships of codependency. By exploring alternatives to monogamy, creating arbitrary rules for their relationship, and doing everything in their power to avoid getting emotionally bruised, Daryl and Zoe attempt to discover a means of growing apart, together.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/12/2010
UPC: 0030306931890
Original Release: 2009
Rating: NR
Source: Ifc Independent Film
Region Code: 1
Time: 1:29:00
Sales rank: 49,836

Special Features

Deleted scenes; Behind the scenes featurette; Photo tutorial; Trailer

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Daryl Wein Daryl
Zoe Lister-Jones Zoe
Julie White Joanie
Olivia Thirlby Erika
Peter Friedman Alan
Andrea Martin Helaine
Pablo Schreiber Turner
La Chanze Maggie
Heather Burns Hannah
Ebon Moss-Bachrach Dylan
Francis Benhamou Lindsay
Sam Rosen Sam
Toby Burns Toby
Tate Ellington Brian
Max Jenkins Frosh
Alexander Gil Tolan
Will Frears Director
Maggie Burke Aunt Barbara
David Call Hot Bartender
Harmon Walsh Hot Bartender
Roger Del Pozo Casting Director
Bryce McDonald Stage Manager
Jenn McNeil Asst. Manager
Marlouse Borm Dancing Model
Shelly Zander Theater Model
Becca Kannapell Yoga Teacher
Aaron Burns Funny Yoga Guy
Ashley Lambert Yoga Girl
Audrey Wauchope Waitress
Ray Iannicelli Man at Synagogue
Rodrigo Lopresti Boy at Party

Technical Credits
Daryl Wein Director,Editor,Producer,Screenwriter
Alex Bergman Cinematographer
Thomas Byrd Sound Mixer
Peter Duchan Associate Producer,Screenwriter
Kyle Forester Score Composer
Allison Jackson Sound Mixer
Bill Lister Executive Producer
Zoe Lister-Jones Producer,Screenwriter
Ryan Schaefer Art Director

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Breaking Upwards
1. Opening Credits [3:37]
2. Establishing the Rules [5:38]
3. The Beginning of the End [6:36]
4. The Folks [5:43]
5. Motherly Advice [4:56]
6. Let's Try In Again [5:02]
7. It's An On-Day [4:41]
8. If I Drown, Don't Save Me [3:45]
9. Date Night [4:17]
10. The Meet and Greet [4:03]
11. A Necessary Step [6:24]
12. An Opportunity [5:36]
13. A Normal Reaction [4:32]
14. New Boyfriend [3:52]
15. Seder [6:21]
16. Breaking the News [6:30]
17. Packing Up [2:51]
18. End Credits [4:36]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews