Broken Harvest

Broken Harvest

Director: Nick McCarthy, Maurice O'Callaghan Cast: Colin Lane, Niall O'Brien

DVD (Stereo)

Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


Broken Harvest

In this drama from Ireland, a man looks back at his youth in the 1950s, when he grew into manhood in the wake of the War of Independence. Jimmy (Darren McHugh) and his best friend Willie (Joe Jeffers) are fairly typical teenagers who like rock and roll, comic books, and Mary (Joy Florish), a girl they've known since childhood. But while their lives are carefree, their families have some serious issues to deal with. Jimmy's folks, Arthur (Colin Lane) and Catherine (Marian Quinn), inherited a large parcel of land, but this inheritance has managed to put them deeply in debt; Arthur also refuses to make peace with the British and hates them with a passion. In addition, Arthur has long fought with Willie's Uncle Josie (Niall O'Brien); many years ago, Josie was Catherine's boyfriend, and neither Josie nor Arthur is willing to forget it. The feud grows from animosity into violence when Josie accuses Willie of stealing money from the local church. Broken Harvest features sequences in both Gaelic and English.

Product Details

Release Date: 04/24/2001
UPC: 0089859823923
Original Release: 1994
Rating: NR
Source: Vci Video
Region Code: 1
Sound: [stereo]
Time: 1:38:00

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Colin Lane Arthur O'Leary
Niall O'Brien Josie McCarthy
Marian Quinn Catherine O'Leary
Darren McHugh Jimmy O'Leary
Joy Florish Mary Finnegan
Joe Jeffers Willie Hogan
Pete O'Reilly Adult Jimmy
Michael Crowley Adult Willie

Technical Credits
Nick McCarthy Director
Maurice O'Callaghan Director,Executive Producer,Screenwriter
Laura Bowe Set Decoration/Design
Patrick Cassidy Score Composer
Jack Conroy Associate Producer,Cinematographer
J. Patrick Duffner Editor
Grainne Ferris Associate Producer
Alan Galett Production Designer
Jerry O'callaghan Producer
Kate O'Callaghan Screenwriter
Trevor O'connor Sound/Sound Designer
Maeve Paterson Costumes/Costume Designer
Liam Saurin Sound/Sound Designer

Scene Index

Side #1
0. Chapters
1. Opening Credits [5:28]
2. In The Past [3:54]
3. Borrowing Money [9:48]
4. Commemoration [4:30]
5. Horseshoeing [4:37]
6. Growing Up [6:00]
7. Caught Stealing [7:06]
8. Confession [5:00]
9. The Last Dance [10:02]
10. Beating The Rain [5:58]
11. Bad News [3:13]
12. Selling The Cows [5:11]
13. At The Bar [4:13]
14. Final Plea [5:41]
15. Finding Josie [4:46]
16. Our Way [5:08]
17. Goodbye [7:54]
18. Closing Credits [3:08]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews