Bunohan (Return to Murder)

Bunohan (Return to Murder)

Director: Dain Said Cast: Faizal Hussein, Zahiril Adzim, Pekin Ibrahim

DVD (Subtitled)

4 New & Used Starting at $2.75


A man with a price on his head is reminded the bonds of family can be both positive and negative in this drama from filmmaker Dain Said. Adil (Zahiril Adzim) is a kickboxer who has fallen deeply into debt, with little hope of paying his creditors honestly. In desperation, Adil agrees to an illegal high-stakes death match at a boxing club in Thailand, but in the midst of the fight, with Adil losing badly, his best friend Muski (Amerul Affendi) bursts into the ring and breaks up the match, dragging Adil away. This upsets the promoters of the fight, and Adil and Muski flee to Malaysia, where Adil was born and raised in a town called Bunohan. The promoter of the fight sends a hired killer, lham (Faizel Hussein), to find and execute Adil, but as the hit man narrows his focus on his target, he learns that he and the fugitive boxer are actually half-brothers. Meanwhile, after making his way back to his father's home in Bunohan, Adil discovers his long-lost brother Bakar (Pekin Ibrahim) has returned to look after their ailing father, but his motives are not benevolent -- he's determined to claim ownership of his father's land, and has plans that will bring disrespect to his family and community. Bunohan received its North American premiere at the 2011 Toronto International Film Festival.

Product Details

Release Date: 05/07/2013
UPC: 0896602002692
Original Release: 2011
Rating: NR
Source: Oscilloscope
Region Code: 0
Time: 1:38:00

Special Features

Feature length audio commentary with director Dain Said; Making of Bunohan; In conversation with Dain Said featuring acclaimed dramatist Huzir Sulaiman; Original theatrical trailer

Cast & Crew

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Bunohan: Return to Murder
1. City People [4:00]
2. Settling Debts [6:22]
3. Stay Here and Die [4:44]
4. Adil [6:40]
5. Washed Up [6:12]
6. Family Plot [8:13]
7. "Life is Unpredictable" [7:17]
8. Touch of Magic [6:02]
9. Father and Son [8:39]
10. Running [5:17]
11. Crocodiles [5:16]
12. Dirty Work [4:34]
13. Practically Brothers [4:58]
14. Finish the Job [4:50]
15. Fate [7:51]
16. Release [7:15]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews