Carlo Colombara: The Art of the Bass

Carlo Colombara: The Art of the Bass

DVD (Wide Screen / Stereo)

Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, November 25


Described as "the great Verdian bass" (Le Figaro) and a "Mefistofele who stood out over all the others" (Der Neue Merker), Carlo Colombara brings some of the most famous bass rôles to life in this wide-ranging programme. Emotions range from the pride of Escamillo in Bizet's Carmen, through the terrors of Verdi's Attila, to the tender recollections of Rachmaninov's Aleko. Mephistopheles strides powerfully through both Gounod and Boito's operas, and Rossini's comic wit contrasts with the darkness of Mussorgsky's Boris Godunov. The Sofia National Opera Chorus, The Bulgarian Symphony Orchestra (under the baton of Vladimir Ghiaurov), The Prague Tchaikovsky Orchestra (under the baton of Fabrizio Milani) and the Orchestra della Svizzera Italiana (under the baton of György G. Ráth) alternately provide musical accompaniment.

Product Details

Release Date: 12/13/2011
UPC: 0747313561254
Original Release: 2011
Source: Naxos
Region Code: 0
Presentation: [Wide Screen]
Sound: [stereo]
Time: 1:08:00
Sales rank: 66,433

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Carlo Colombara: The Art of the Bass
1. Flamenco Introduction [2:27]
2. Verdi: Don Carlo "Ella Giammai M'Amo" [6:19]
3. Bizet: Carmen "Votre Toast" [9:58]
4. Rossini: Il Barbiere Di Sivilia "La Calunnia" [4:18]
5. Verdi: Simon Boccanegra "Il Lacerato, Spirito" [5:09]
6. Gounod: Faust "Vous Faites l'Endormie" [4:15]
7. Verdi: Nabucco "Tu Sui Labbro" [5:55]
8. Boito: Mefistofele "Ecco il Mondo" [3:03]
9. Verdi: Attila "Mentre Gonfiarsi l'Anima Parea" [7:29]
10. Rachmaniov: Aleko Aleko's Cavatina [7:03]
11. Mussorgsky: Boris Godunov 'Proshcái Moy Syn" [11:02]
12. Credits [1:29]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews