Soumitra Chatterjee
Director: Satyajit Ray Cast: Soumitra Chatterjee
Soumitra Chatterjee
, Madhabi Mukherjee
Madhabi Mukherjee
Satyajit Ray

DVD (Black & White)

View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Tuesday, April 27


This film by Satyajit Ray, India's most renowned filmmaker, tells the story of Charu (Madhabi Mukherjee), a woman in late 19th-century Calcutta. She is neglected by her busy husband, Bhupati (Shailen Mukherjee), a politically active newspaper publisher. When Bhupati's younger cousin Amal (Soumitra Chatterjee), a sensitive, intellectual student on break from the university, comes for an extended visit, Charu enjoys Amal's company, and the two while away the hours in conversation. But as their relationship grows closer, Charu falls in love with Amal. The film, based on a popular Indian novel, marks a significant point in Ray's career, as it bears the influence of Western film on his directorial style. Shown at the 1965 Berlin Film Festival, the film was curiously and inexplicably rejected by the committee at the Cannes Film Festival.

Product Details

Release Date: 08/20/2013
UPC: 0715515109215
Original Release: 1964
Source: Criterion Collection
Region Code: 1
Presentation: [B&W]
Sound: [Dolby Digital Mono]
Time: 1:59:00
Sales rank: 40,653

Special Features

New interview program with actors Madhabi Mukherjee and Soumitra Chatterjee; Adapting Tagore, a new interview program featuring Indian film scholar Moinak Biswas and Bengali cultural historian Supriya Chaudhuri; Archival audio interview with Director Satyajit Ray, conducted by film historian Gideon Bachmann; Plus: A booklet featuring an essay by critic Philip Kemp and a 1980s interview with Ray by his biographer Andrew Robinson

Cast & Crew

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Charulata
1. Lonely Wife [10:25]
2. Loyal Wife [5:02]
3. Amal's Arrival [4:01]
4. Bhupati's Sentinel [6:22]
5. Tending to Amal [8:16]
6. Bankim [5:49]
7. Garden of Delights [4:48]
8. Inspired Writing [7:55]
9. A Marriage Proposal [6:11]
10. Manda and Mando [3:00]
11. "O Fair One" [7:11]
12. Charulata's Turn [5:44]
13. Paan for Amal [3:32]
14. "To The Liberals!" [4:57]
15. Wordplay [6:13]
16. Payments Overdue [3:11]
17. Trust and Faith [8:18]
18. Rivals [3:14]
19. Future Plans [4:46]
20. Letter from Amal [6:44]
21. Broken Nest [3:33]

Customer Reviews