Roman Polanski
 Cast: Roman Polanski
Roman Polanski
, John Karlsen
John Karlsen
, Richard McNamara
Richard McNamara
, Pietro Tordi
Pietro Tordi

DVD (Wide Screen)

View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, December 2


One of Roman Polanski's lesser-known films, Diary of Forbidden Dreams (also known as What?) stars Sydne Rome as an attractive young hitchhiker who, as the film opens, accepts a ride from three men in a car, who later attempt to rape her. She escapes their clutches and makes her way to a mansion owned by millionaire Joseph Noblart (Hugh Griffith), who is overseeing a decadent party. Among the guests at his home are a pair of table-tennis players, a man with a harpoon (played by Polanski himself), and a hedonistic pimp played by Marcello Mastroianni. The woman's sexually charged adventure is an homage to Alice in Wonderland.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 04/26/2016
UPC: 0663390001134
Original Release: 1972
Rating: NR
Source: Severin
Region Code: 0
Presentation: [Wide Screen]
Time: 1:50:00
Sales rank: 22,332

Special Features

Sydne in Wonderland Interview with Star Sydne Rome; Memories of a Young Pianist - Interview with Composer Claudio Gizzi; A Surreal Pop Movie - Interview with Cinematographer Marcello Gatti; Theatrical Trailer

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
John Karlsen Actor
Richard McNamara Actor
Roman Polanski Mosquito
Pietro Tordi Actor
Henning Schluter Actor
Hugh Griffith Owner Of Villa
Sydne Rome The Girl
Cicely Browne Actor
Birgit Nilsson Actor
Nerina Montagnani Actor
Alvaro Vitali Actor
Dieter Hallervorden Actor
Guido Alberti Priest
Marcello Mastroianni Alex
Romolo Valli Administrator
Carlo delle Piane The Boy

Technical Credits
Roman Polanski Director,Editor,Screenwriter
Adrianna Berselli Costumes/Costume Designer
Gérard Brach Screenwriter
Andrew Braunsberg Producer
Aurelio Crugnola Production Designer
Franco Fumagalli Art Director
Marcello Gatti Cinematographer
Claudio Gizzi Score Composer,Musical Arrangement,Musical Direction/Supervision
Alastair McIntyre Editor
Carlo Ponti Producer
Giuseppe Ruzzolini Cinematographer

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- What?
1. Main Titles [1:57]
2. Attacked by Italians [9:32]
3. Topless Breakfast [9:57]
4. A Real Pimp [4:50]
5. Give And Take [10:26]
6. Taming The Tiger [8:40]
7. New Arrivals [5:47]
8. Stolen Trousers [8:52]
9. Oral Exam [7:50]
10. Strange Coincidences [6:42]
11. Mr. Noblart [7:35]
12. Interrogation [7:16]
13. Déjà Vu [4:13]
14. A Masterpiece [5:16]
15. Special Requests [9:22]
16. "They're After Me!" [5:09]

Customer Reviews