Classic Archive: Leonard Bernstein Conducts Shostakovich

Classic Archive: Leonard Bernstein Conducts Shostakovich

Director: Humphrey Burton Cast: London Symphony Orchestra, Leonard Bernstein

DVD (Black & White / Mono / Stereo)

Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, October 17


This December 1966 concert finds maestro Leonard Bernstein conducting the London Symphony Orchestra in a performance of Dmitry Shostakovich's "Symphony No. 5 in D minor, Op. 47." This armchair travel release journeys to a series of fascinating locations across Germany, including a glass factory in Frauenau and the Abbey of St. George and St. Martin in Weltenburg, for a tour of Deutschland that emphasizes the country's diverse and colorful milieux. The trip itself is set to a score by Telemann, a close friend and colleague of Jo9hann Sebastian Bach; it includes his "Suite for Recorder and Strings," and two concertos from his "Tafelmusik" composition.

Product Details

Release Date: 08/30/2011
UPC: 0880242853189
Original Release: 1966
Source: Euroarts
Region Code: 0
Presentation: [B&W]
Sound: [stereo, monaural]
Time: 0:49:00
Sales rank: 57,631

Cast & Crew

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Classic Archive: Leonard Bernstein Conducts Shostakovich
1. Opening [:28]
2. l Moderato [16:27]
3. ll Moderato [4:55]
4. lll Largo [15:31]
5. lV Allegro non troppo [9:26]
6. Credits [:16]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews