Claudio Arrau: The Emperor

Claudio Arrau: The Emperor

Director: Peter Rosen Cast: Claudio Arrau

DVD (Stereo)

View All Available Formats & Editions

Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


Claudio Arrau: The Emperor

Pianist Claudio Arrau was widely regarded as one of the great interpretive artists of his generation, a musician who refused to allow his own personal style to overwhelm the pieces he performed. Born in Chile in 1903, Arrau began his career there at the age of five, and in 1984 he returned to his homeland for a series of recitals which would prove to be his last. Claudio Arrau: The Emperor is a documentary which explores Arrau's long and distinguished career, leading up to a triumphant performance of Beethoven's "Emperor" Concerto, one of the signature pieces in Arrau's repertoire.

Product Details

Release Date: 05/31/2011
UPC: 0880242586483
Original Release: 1987
Source: Euroarts
Region Code: 0
Sound: [stereo]
Time: 1:25:00

Cast & Crew

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Signature Performance Series: Claudio Arrau - The Emperor
1. Opening Credits - 'Claudio Arrau Has Been Playing the Piano' [3:49]
2. 'Arriving at the Airport' [2:25]
3. 'The Chileans Have Always Loved Culture' [4:05]
4. 'The Day After His Arrival in Chile' [4:47]
5. 'Beethoven's Music' [4:19]
6. 'I Had a Wonderful Training' [3:37]
7. 'In 1918, at Age 15' [2:18]
8. 'These Years of Struggle' [4:15]
9. 'Although He Holds Both American' [4:13]
10. 'The Turning-Point in Arrau's European Career' [2:59]
11. 'Claudio Arrau Lives Quietly in New York' [3:14]
12. 'Earlier This Evening' [2:35]
13. Beethoven: Piano Concerto No. 5 'Emperor': I. Allegro [20:48]
14. Beethoven: Piano Concerto No. 5 'Emperor': II. Adagio Un Poco Moto [7:49]
15. Beethoven: Piano Concerto No. 5 'Emperor': III. Rondo. Allegro [10:35]
16. 'Beethoven's Piano Concerto No. 5' [1:21]
17. Credits [:54]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews