Cloud Gate Dance Theatre of Taiwan: Cursive II

Cloud Gate Dance Theatre of Taiwan: Cursive II

DVD (Wide Screen / Stereo / DTS)

View All Available Formats & Editions

Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


Cloud Gate Dance Theatre of Taiwan: Cursive II

The choreographer behind such acclaimed works as Moon Water and Bamboo Dream returns with a masterful performance-piece inspired by Chinese calligraphy and featuring the highly-praised Cloud Gate dangers. Trained in martial arts, Chi-Kung, and meditation, the Cloud Gate dancers bring Lin Hwai-min's vital piece to life with an irresistible energy that is alternately commanding and seductive. As the music of experimental artist John Cage plays and shimmering images of "ice crackles" from Sung porcelain fill the stage backdrop, mesmerized viewers will bear witness to a spellbinding performance by one of the most talented choreographers of his generation.

Product Details

Release Date: 01/27/2009
UPC: 0032031095298
Original Release: 2005
Source: Kultur Video
Region Code: 0
Presentation: [Wide Screen]
Sound: [stereo, DTS 5.1-Channel Surround Sound, Dolby Digital Stereo]
Time: 2:27:00

Special Features

Dragon Flying and Phoenix Dancing, an Introduction to Cursive II with Lin Hwai-min; ; Floating on the Ground - a documentary by Reiner E. Moritz, portraying Lin Hwai-min, Cloudj Gate Dance Theater of Taiwan and Cursive II in the context of the company's history, including interview with the choreographer, dancers and creative team

Cast & Crew

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Cursive II
1. Opening Credits [5:20]
2. Sequence 1 (Four Women) [5:08]
3. Sequence 2 (Six Men) [4:01]
4. Sequence 3 (Duet 1) [3:28]
5. Sequence 4 (Woman Solo) [2:33]
6. Sequence 5 (Nine Men) [4:17]
7. Sequence 6 (Four Duets) [5:21]
8. Sequence 7 (Duet II) [4:42]
9. Sequence 8 (Long Ann Temple) [2:25]
10. Sequence 9 (Man Solo) [5:44]
11. Sequence 10 (Trio) [4:45]
12. Sequence 11 (Finale) [5:41]
13. End Credits [4:56]
1. I Am a Generator of Energy [5:20]
2. Moving from Inside Out [5:08]
3. A Total New Experience [4:01]
4. The Boy in the Red Shirt [3:28]
5. Return to Taiwan [2:33]
6. Early Works [4:17]
7. Buddha was not a God [5:21]
8. Visual Images of the Taiwanese [4:42]
9. Flowing for ever [2:25]
10. Bamboo Dream [5:44]
11. It's Always the Answers That Inspire Me [4:45]
12. The Cursive Trilogy : Traces of Energy [5:41]
13. A Tremendous Sense of Freedom and Turbulent Beauty [4:56]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews