Pub. Date:


Pam Grier
Director: Jack Hill Cast: Pam Grier
Pam Grier
, Booker Bradshaw
Booker Bradshaw
, Robert DoQui
Robert DoQui
Jack Hill

DVD (Color / Wide Screen)

View All Available Formats & Editions


Writer-director Jack Hill (Spider Baby, Switchblade Sisters) managed to beat Death Wish to the screens by a year with this violent tale of a citizen touched by crime and deciding to fight back. Her little 11-year old sister is a hopeless addict, the police can't help, and poor Nurse "Coffy" Coffin (Pam Grier) has no choice but to take the law into her own hands. Posing as a Jamaican prostitute, Coffy infiltrates the lairs of pimp King George (Robert DoQui) and kingpin pusher Vitroni (Allan Arbus). Eventually, after her childhood sweetheart is beaten into a coma and she finds out her politician-lover (Booker Bradshaw) is involved, Coffy kills everyone with a shotgun. However, by having a black woman named Coffy get injected with a sugar mixture (the crooks think it's heroin), one can only imagine the filmmakers cackling about Coffy with cream and sugar. In fact, the original ad line promised "Coffy...she'll cream you!"

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 06/09/2015
UPC: 0887090100502
Original Release: 1973
Rating: R
Source: Olive Films
Region Code: 1
Presentation: [Wide Screen, Color]
Sound: [Dolby Digital Stereo]
Time: 1:30:00
Sales rank: 22,556

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Pam Grier Coffy
Booker Bradshaw Brunswick
Robert DoQui King George
William Elliott Carter
Allan Arbus Vitroni
John Perak Aleva
Sid Haig Omar
Linda Haynes Meg
Morris Buchanan Sugar-Man
Barry Cahill McHenry
Lee de Broux Nick
Lisa Farringer Jeri
Bob Minor Studs
Ruben Moreno Ramos
Carol Lawson Actor

Technical Credits
Jack Hill Director,Screenwriter
Roy Ayers Score Composer
Salvatore Billitteri Producer
Perry Ferguson Art Director
Don Johnson Sound/Sound Designer
Paul Lohmann Cinematographer
Charles McClelland Editor
Chuck McClelland Editor
Robert A. Papazian Producer

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Coffy
1. Chapter 1 [10:53]
2. Chapter 2 [11:27]
3. Chapter 3 [11:57]
4. Chapter 4 [12:01]
5. Chapter 5 [1:12]
6. Chapter 6 [10:17]
7. Chapter 7 [11:44]
8. Chapter 8 [9:38]
9. Chapter 9 [11:08]

Customer Reviews