Crossing the Bridge: The Sound of Istanbul

Crossing the Bridge: The Sound of Istanbul

Director: Fatih Akin Cast: Safiye Ayla, Cem Karaca, Baris Manço

DVD (Wide Screen / Subtitled)

$23.77 $24.99 Save 5% Current price is $23.77, Original price is $24.99. You Save 5%.
Use Standard Shipping. For guaranteed delivery by December 24, use Express or Expedited Shipping.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/19/2006
UPC: 0712267260720
Original Release: 2005
Rating: NR
Source: Strand Home Video
Presentation: [Wide Screen]
Time: 1:30:00
Sales rank: 85,989

Special Features

Original theatrical trailer and trailers from other films by Strand Releasing

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Safiye Ayla Interviewee
Cem Karaca Interviewee
Baris Manço Interviewee
Zeki Müren Interviewee
Tanju Okan Interviewee
Alexander Hacke Interviewee
Ahmet Ulug Interviewee
Cern Yegul Interviewee
Mehmet Ulug Interviewee
Baba Zula Interviewee
Orient Expressions Interviewee
Feyyaz Duman Interviewee
Replikas Interviewee
Peyote Hasan Interviewee
Erkin Koray Interviewee
Ines De Oliveira Cezar Interviewee
Ayben Interviewee
Istanbul Style Breakers Interviewee
Mercan Dede Interviewee
Timur Selcuk Interviewee
Brenna MacCrimmon Interviewee
Selim Sesler Interviewee
Siyasiyabend Interviewee
Nuri Bilge Ceylan Interviewee
Aynur Interviewee
Hasan Saltik Interviewee
Orhan Gencebay Interviewee
Muzeyyen Senar Interviewee
Sezen Aksu Interviewee

Technical Credits
Fatih Akin Director,Producer,Screenwriter
Andrew D. Bird Editor
Richard Borowski Sound/Sound Designer
Herve Dieu Cinematographer
Johannes Grehl Sound/Sound Designer
Sandra Harzer-Kux Producer
Andreas Hildebrandt Sound Editor
Christian Kux Producer
Shermin Langhoff Asst. Director
Klaus Maeck Consultant/advisor,Producer
Andreas Thiel Producer

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Crossing the Bridge: The Sound of Istanbul
1. Opening [7:10]
2. Istanbul 1:26 AM [6:50]
3. Civilized Noise [6:09]
4. Istanbul's Black Music [8:43]
5. Emotional Level [9:32]
6. Romany Music [8:01]
7. Busking [10:12]
8. Kurdish Music [7:06]
9. Orhan Gencebay [9:43]
10. Sezen Aksu [6:46]
11. Time to Leave [4:26]
12. Credits [5:25]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Crossing the Bridge: The Sound of Istanbul 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This dvd presents the deep, delightful relationship between contemporary Turkish life & its music. Sounds, visual richness, and comments on culture by local artists & listeners accompany a German musician as he takes us through varied parts of Istanbul & her lively music. His entranced observations as he is welcomed at special gatherings and everyday occasions open a world to us, including a Romany wedding, the growth of Turkish rock & hip hop, street musicians, & some of the most famous faces in Turkish music of recent decades. Like being back in Istanbul!