Director: Richard Ciupka, Jonathan Stryker Cast: John Vernon, Samantha Eggar

Blu-ray (Wide Screen)

View All Available Formats & Editions


This derivative Canadian thriller plays like a distaff version of Samuel Fuller's cult classic Shock Corridor fused rather crudely to a standard mad-slasher plot. The story takes place primarily at the country villa of a sleazy horror film director (scenery-chomping John Vernon), where auditions for the title role of his new film Audra are taking place. The casting session is called after the film's intended star had herself committed to an asylum in order to properly research her Frances Farmer-type role, then found herself unable to get out. It comes as little surprise, then, that the six actresses vying for the plum role in her absence are not long for this world, as a witch-masked marauder is wandering the premises with some well-honed implements. This film's surprisingly stylish look is probably due to the initial direction of acclaimed cinematographer Richard Ciupka, but the film was actually completed by a pseudonymous replacement. (The credited director, "Jonathan Stryker", is actually the name of Vernon's character.)

Product Details

Release Date: 07/29/2014
UPC: 0654930316290
Original Release: 1983
Source: Synapse Films
Region Code: A
Presentation: [Wide Screen]
Time: 1:30:00

Special Features

The Ultimate Nightmare: The Making Of "Curtains" - an all-new retrospective featuring interviews with director Richard Ciupka, stars Lesleh Donaldson & Lynne Griffin, editor Michael MacLaverty, special make-up effects creator Greg Cannom, and composer Paul Zaza; Ciupka - A Film-Maker in Transition: director Gordon Thorne's vintage documentary short, featuring rare behind-the-scenes footage form Curtains (Blu-ray exclusive); Audio commentary track featuring Lesleh Donaldson and Lynne Griffin; Alternate audio track vintage interviews with producer Peter R. Simpson and star Samantha Eggar; Theatrical trailer

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
John Vernon Jonathan Stryker
Samantha Eggar Samantha Sherwood
Linda Thorson Brooke Parsons
Anne Ditchburn Laurian Summers
Lynne Griffin Patti O'Connor
Sandra Warren Tara Demillo
Lesley Donaldson Christie Burns
Deborah Burgess Amanda
Michael Wincott Matthew
Joanne McIntyre Secretary
Anna Migliarisi Actor
Sandee Currie Tara DeMillo
Maury Chaykin Monty
Calvin Butler Dr. Pendleton
Kate Lynch Receptionist
Booth Savage Amanda's Boyfriend
William Marshall Attendant
James Kidnie Attendant
Janelle Hutchison Stroker
Virginia Leith Screamer
Vivian Reis TV Laugher
Katya Ladan Inmate
Donald Adams Ward Attendant
Bunty Webb Tickler

Technical Credits
Richard Ciupka Director
Jonathan Stryker Director
Gerry Arbeid Production Manager
Colin Chilvers Special Effects
Bryan Day Sound/Sound Designer
Ilana Frank Production Manager
Fred Guthe Cinematographer
Robert Guza Screenwriter
Michael MacLaverty Editor
Robert Paynter Cinematographer
Peter R. Simpson Producer
Richard Simpson Executive Producer
Roy Forge Smith Production Designer
Tony Thatcher Asst. Director
Stephen Wright Asst. Director
Paul Zaza Score Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews