Cutie and the Boxer

Cutie and the Boxer

DVD (Color / Wide Screen)

$9.43 $9.99 Save 6% Current price is $9.43, Original price is $9.99. You Save 6%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, September 20


In 1972, Ushio Shinohara was a 40-year-old artist who had been living in New York City for three years and had won a small but distinguished following for what he called his "boxing paintings," created by dipping gloves in paint and literally pounding at the canvas. Ushio met Noriko Shinohara, a 19-year-old art student who had just arrived in the United States; the two fell into a relationship that was destined to become permanent when Noriko became pregnant a few months later. Four decades on, Ushio and Noriko are still together, but their relationship is not always a healthy one; he's an alcoholic who dominates the marriage and is clearly resentful that his career in art has not been more successful, especially since Noriko has caught the attention of critics with her own work, which uses comic-style images to express messages of female empowerment inspired by her own life. Filmmaker Zachary Heinzerling offers an emotionally intense look into the sometimes volatile balance between two talented but combative personalities in the documentary Cutie and the Boxer. The film received its world premiere at the 2013 Sundance Film Festival.

Product Details

Release Date: 02/04/2014
UPC: 0013132609201
Original Release: 2013
Rating: R
Source: Radius
Region Code: 1
Presentation: [Wide Screen, Color]
Sound: [Dolby Digital Stereo, Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround]
Time: 1:22:00
Sales rank: 20,718

Special Features

Deleted scenes; Shinohara: The Last Artist by Rod McCall; Q&A at The Sundance Film Festival; Action Is Art: A Study Of Ushio Shinohara's Boxing Painting

Cast & Crew

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Cutie and the Boxer
1. Chapter 1 [5:41]
2. Chapter 2 [4:16]
3. Chapter 3 [5:26]
4. Chapter 4 [5:20]
5. Chapter 5 [4:41]
6. Chapter 6 [5:03]
7. Chapter 7 [5:58]
8. Chapter 8 [7:18]
9. Chapter 9 [5:58]
10. Chapter 10 [5:11]
11. Chapter 11 [4:31]
12. Chapter 12 [1:14]
13. Chapter 13 [4:29]
14. Chapter 14 [4:24]
15. Chapter 15 [4:40]
16. Chapter 16 [5:19]
17. Chapter 17 [2:02]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews