Dreams of Dust

Dreams of Dust

DVD (Subtitled)

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Monday, October 1?   Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Shipping at checkout.


Dreams of Dust

With his deeply cathartic and intransigent drama Dreams of Dust, Laurent Salgues takes an unflinching look at life in a hellish African gold-mining community. For countless hours, days and weeks on end, the employees of a mining camp burrow long tunnels into the sand in search of increasingly elusive nuggets. When one is found, economic circumstances improve for all; when the tunnels collapse, the workers lose their lives, new teams are reeled in, and the process begins anew. Yet Salgues unveils a core of dignity at the story's center, personified by two characters - the Nigerian farmer Mocktar, still reeling from a personal tragedy, who nevertheless demonstrates astonishing tenacity by climbing into the scorching tunnels each morning; and his female counterpart, the gorgeous Coumba, also reeling from a disaster - the sudden, unexpected death of most of her family, and her consequent need to raise her daughter on her own. Amid a difficult, threatening environment, these two quickly find soulmates and a ray of hope in one another.

Product Details

Release Date: 01/08/2008
UPC: 0616892929925
Original Release: 2006
Rating: NR
Source: Film Movement
Region Code: 1
Time: 1:36:00
Sales rank: 72,557

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Makena Diop Actor
Rasmane Ouedraogo Actor
Fatou Tall-Salgues Actor
Joseph B. Tapsoba Actor
Souleymane Zouré Actor

Technical Credits
Laurent Salgues Director,Screenwriter
Stéphane Bergeron Sound/Sound Designer
Marc Daigle Producer
Crystel Fournier Cinematographer
Annie Jean Editor
Luc Mandeville Sound/Sound Designer
Jean Massicotte Score Composer
Thierry Morlaas-Lurbe Sound/Sound Designer
Sophie Salbot Producer
Sekou Traore Co-producer
Bill Traore Set Decoration/Design
Mathieu Vanasse Score Composer

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Dreams of Dust
1. Twenty Years Too Late [6:28]
2. New Recruit [6:10]
3. The Maquis Bleu [6:31]
4. The Shaft [7:52]
5. Nothing Broken [9:10]
6. First Pay [5:40]
7. Collapse [8:07]
8. Entertainment [7:22]
9. Gold! [7:36]
10. Big Day [7:04]
11. Walk Away [7:35]
12. Credits [3:15]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews