Drunken Angel

Drunken Angel

Toshiro Mifune
Director: Akira Kurosawa Cast: Toshiro Mifune
Toshiro Mifune
, Reisaburo Yamamoto
Reisaburo Yamamoto
, Chieko Nakakita
Chieko Nakakita
Akira Kurosawa

DVD (Black & White)

Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Friday, January 28


Originally titled Yoidore tenshi, Drunken Angel was director Akira Kurosawa's first "auteur" project. "I finally discovered myself," he explained later. "It was my picture: I was doing it and no one else." Takashi Shimura plays an alcoholic doctor, running a fleabitten clinic in the slums of Tokyo. Shimura tries to pull himself together long enough to save the life of young hoodlum Toshiro Mifune. The doctor feels that, by saving Mifune, he is retrieving a portion of his own lost youth and idealism. Kurosawa later observed that he had trouble corraling Tohsiro Mifune's improvisational instincts, but that "I did not want to smother that vitality." The end result in Drunken Angel is a supremely satisfying blend of Mifune's rapid-fire excesses and Kurosawa's even-handed control.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 11/26/2007
UPC: 0715515026826
Original Release: 1948
Source: Criterion Collection
Region Code: 1
Presentation: [B&W]
Sound: [Dolby Digital Mono]
Time: 1:38:00
Sales rank: 16,490

Special Features

New, restored high-definition digital transfer; Audio commentary featuring Japanese-film scholar Donald Richie; A 31-minute documentary on the Making of Drunken Angel, created as part of the Toho Masterworks series Akira Kurosawa: It is Wonderful to Create; Kurosawa and the censors, a new, 25-minute video piece that looks at the challenges Kurosawa faced in making Drunken Angel; New and improved English subtitle translation; Plus: a booklet featuring an essay by cultural historian Ian Buruma and excerpts from Kurosawa's Something Like an Autobiography

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Toshiro Mifune Matsunaga
Reisaburo Yamamoto Okada, gang boss
Chieko Nakakita Miyo
Noriko Sengoku Gin
Takashi Shimura Dr. Sanada
Michiyo Kogure Nanae
Eitaro Shindo Takahama
Yoshiko Kuga Actor
Choko Iida Old Servant

Technical Credits
Akira Kurosawa Director,Producer,Screenwriter
Fumio Hayasaka Score Composer
Takeo Ito Cinematographer
Takashi Matsuyama Set Decoration/Design
So Matsuyama Art Director
Shojiro Motoki Producer
Shinobu Muraki Production Designer
Yoshiro Muraki Production Designer
Keinosuke Uegusa Screenwriter

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Drunken Angel
1. "You Call That a Nail?" [10:50]
2. Follow-Up [9:07]
3. The Past [7:14]
4. No Guts [5:05]
5. "Dirty, Stinking Angel" [4:35]
6. X-ray [6:47]
7. "The Killer's Anthem" [2:48]
8. Night Out [:08]
9. Emergency Patient [8:37]
10. Fear [7:47]
11. "Rotten, Maggot Infested" [2:59]
12. Okada's Woman [5:11]
13. Code of Honor [4:08]
14. Okada's Turf [4:42]
15. Confrontation [5:24]
16. "You Can Never Change Anyone" [5:57]
17. Hope [3:55]
1. Set Design and Production [9:14]
2. Toshiro Mifune [8:19]
3. Music [7:23]
4. Final Fight [3:01]
5. Drunken Agnel, the Play [1:43]
6. Images, Not Words [1:34]
1. The Censorship System [7:46]
2. Japan, 1948 [2:34]
3. Little Victories: Postwar Films Before Drunken Angel [2:18]
4. The Case of Drunken Angel [11:48]

Customer Reviews