Emile Norman: By His Own Design

Emile Norman: By His Own Design

Director: Will Parrinello Cast: Emile Norman

DVD (Color)

Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


Emile Norman: By His Own Design

From the beginning, artist Emile Norman redefined 'iconoclast' via the degree to which he bucked the system and went his own way. Though raised on a ranch in the San Gabriel Valley in the early 20th century, Norman gravitated to the bohemian lifestyles of Big Sur, California and simultaneously both acknowledged and embraced his innate homosexual longings - an inclination capped via his 30+-year relationship with filmmaker and photographer Brooks Clement. As a visual pioneer, Norman shook up New York City's art world with astonishing displays at Bergdorf -Goodman's and in the San Francisco Masonic Temple, and impacted Hollywood as well, with such feats as designing the chorus girl costumes in the Fred Astaire movie Blue Skies. As produced by Jill Eikenberry and Michael Tucker and originally screened on PBS, the documentary Emile Norman: By His Own Design charts Norman's life, career and artwork, as it profiles his distinct paradigm.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/24/2008
UPC: 0841887008938
Original Release: 2006
Rating: NR
Source: Pbs (Direct)
Region Code: 1
Sound: [Dolby Digital Stereo]
Time: 1:00:00

Special Features

Closed Caption; ; The Hawk (Archival Film) ; Photo gallery

Cast & Crew

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Emile Norman: By His Own Design
2. Childhood [4:55]
3. In the Studio [2:13]
4. "Art Is An Individual Thing" [1:46]
5. New York City [3:18]
6. Coming Out - Blue Skies [2:30]
7. "I'll Show The World What You're Doing" - Brooks Clement [1:45]
8. Big Sur - "The World's Most Spectacular Meeting of Land and Sea" [7:33]
9. The Hawk/ Wood Inlay Technique [2:04]
10. "He Loved that Land" [:34]
11. Henry Miller [1:41]
12. Endomosaic Window/ Masonic Auditorium [5:12]
13. New York Critics Hail Emile Norman [4:41]
14. "It Was Complete Freedom" - Angus Whyte [2:34]
15. Wildlife of East Africa [1:10]
16. "We Were Together 30 Years" [2:54]
17. "He Changed My Life" - Jeffrey Mallory and C. Kevin Smith [3:19]
18. "We're Chanticleer" [1:50]
19. "When I Work I Can't Be Lonely" [5:15]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews