Everything Is Illuminated

Everything Is Illuminated

Elijah Wood
Director: Liev Schreiber Cast: Elijah Wood
Elijah Wood
, Eugene Hutz
Eugene Hutz
, Boris Leskin
Boris Leskin
Liev Schreiber

DVD (Wide Screen)

$18.39 $19.99 Save 8% Current price is $18.39, Original price is $19.99. You Save 8%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


A young man takes a strange and unexpectedly funny journey in search of a family heroine he's never known in this screen adaptation of the novel by Jonathan Safran Foer. Jonathan (Elijah Wood) is a lifelong collector of any and all objects pertaining to his family, and he has become obsessed with a woman he's never met. The woman saved the life of his grandfather during World War II, when the Ukrainian town where he was born was destroyed by Nazi troops. Wanting to know more about the woman, Jonathan flies to the Ukraine, where with the help of a hip-hop obsessed, gold-toothed tour guide and translator named Alex (Eugene Hütz), Alex's grandfather (a chauffeur who has claimed to be blind since his wife's death, played by Boris Leskin), and a dog named Sammy Davis Junior Junior, Jonathan searches for the meaning of the present that lies buried in the past, unexpectedly shedding the same such light on the lives of those around him. Everything Is Illuminated was the first directorial assignment for acclaimed actor Liev Schreiber.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/21/2006
UPC: 0012569593428
Original Release: 2005
Rating: PG-13
Source: Warner Home Video
Region Code: 1
Presentation: [Full Frame]
Sound: [Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround]
Time: 1:45:00
Sales rank: 12,630

Special Features

Closed Caption; Additional scenes; Theatrical trailer; Subtitles: English, Français & Españikl

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Elijah Wood Jonathan Safran Foer
Eugene Hutz Alex
Boris Leskin Jonathan's Grandfather
Jonathan Safran Foer Leaf Blower
Jana Hrabetová Jonathan's Grandmother
Stepán Samudovský Jonathan's Grandfather Safran
Ljubomir Dezera Young Jonathan
Oleksandr Choroshko Alexander Perchov (Father)
Gil Kazimirov Igor
Zuzana Hodkova Alex's Mother
Sandra Mikki Sammy Davis Jr. Jr.
Robert Chytil Breakdancer
Jaroslava Sochová Woman on Train
Sergej Rjabcev Ukrainian Band
Jurij Lemeshev Ukrainian Band
Pamela Racine Ukrainian Band
Oleksandr Houtz Ukrainian Band
Ludmila Kartouská Ukrainian Band
Igor Latta Old Man at Fair
Eugenin Marandic Fair Goer
Orest Tkachyk Fair Goer
Eliás Bauer Well Digger
Jurij Kokyrc Well Digger
Sergej Kapitan Well Digger
Jaroslav Jurichkanc Well Digger
Igor Savivskij Well Digger
Jan Filipensky Well Digger
Bert Schneider Nazi Officer
Tereza Veselková Augustine
Laryssa Lauret Lista
Lukás Král Young Grandfather (Baruch)
Vera Sindelárová Young Lista
Mouse on Mars Sammy Davis Jr. Jr.
Ted Sperling Conductor

Technical Credits
Liev Schreiber Director,Screenwriter
Oksana Batuik Translator
Nancy Bishop Casting
Paul Cantelon Score Composer
Gary Chester Sound Mixer
Michael Clancy Costumes/Costume Designer
J. John Corbett Animator
Kelley Cribben Associate Producer
Magela Crosignani Camera Operator
Kate Dowd Casting
Petr Forejt Sound Mixer
Mark Geraghty Production Designer
Jude Gorjanc Asst. Director
Susan Jacobs Musical Direction/Supervision
Avy Kaufman Casting
Wolfram Koessel Musical Direction/Supervision
Matthew J. Libatique Cinematographer
Andrew Marcus Editor
Craig McKay Editor
Jan Mensik Asst. Director
Maggie Murphy Asst. Director
Lidiya Nychyk Translator
Kieron Phipps Asst. Director
Victor Quinaz Asst. Director
Ljuba Reznickova Costumes/Costume Designer
Helena Rovna Costumes/Costume Designer
Peter Saraf Producer
Patrice Soptenkova Costumes/Costume Designer
Matthew Stillman Executive Producer
Marc Turtletaub Producer
Martin Vackar Art Director

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Everything Is Illuminated
1. Credits [4:06]
2. Jonathan's Collection [5:43]
3. Alex and His Family [4:18]
4. Destination Lutsk [4:43]
5. Back-Seat Companions [6:06]
6. More of a Collector [2:51]
7. No Meat, No Meal [3:49]
8. Proximate With Your Grandfather [4:48]
9. Directions and Tips [4:14]
10. N, H and C Words [2:05]
11. Lost [3:01]
12. Coming to Blows [4:21]
13. Grandfather's Thoughts [4:06]
14. Mirror Image [3:08]
15. Perfect Place [3:27]
16. I Am Trachimbrod [3:42]
17. Illumination [5:03]
18. Why Jonathan Collects [4:22]
19. All That Is Left [2:59]
20. Survivor's Story [3:40]
21. Rising From the Dead [5:21]
22. Because of the Ring [4:25]
23. Survivor's Surrender [3:19]
24. The Past Alongside Us [4:43]
25. Illuminated Faces [3:18]
26. Dedication and End Credits [3:32]

Customer Reviews