Fires on the Plain

Fires on the Plain

Eiji Funakoshi
Director: Kon Ichikawa Cast: Eiji Funakoshi
Eiji Funakoshi
, Mantaro Ushio
Mantaro Ushio
, Yoshihiro Hamaguchi
Yoshihiro Hamaguchi
Kon Ichikawa

DVD (Black & White / Wide Screen)

Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Kon Ichikawa's adaptation of Shohei Ooka's novel Nobi takes place in the Philippines at the end of World War II. The Japanese army is in hasty retreat from the incoming American forces. The soldiers have also been warned that the Americans will take no live prisoners, and so their flight is all the more desperate. One group of men harbors a soldier named Tamura (Eiji Funakoshi) suffering from the last stages of tuberculosis. Knowing he is facing imminent death anyway, Tamura is able to resist submitting to the chaos and demoralization that overtake his fellow soldiers (who fall so far as to commit murder, cannibalism, and go insane). Eventually Tamura becomes involved with a couple that has returned in order to pick up a cache of salt. He shoots the wife and chases off the husband, bringing him one step closer to losing his humanity.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/12/2007
UPC: 0715515022620
Original Release: 1959
Source: Criterion Collection
Region Code: 1
Presentation: [B&W, Wide Screen]
Sound: [Dolby Digital Mono]
Time: 1:44:00
Sales rank: 31,458

Special Features

New, restored high-definition digital transfer; New video introduction by Japanese-film scholar Donald Richie; New video piece featuring director Kon Ichikawa and actor Mickey Curtis; new and improved English subtitle translation; Plus: A new essay by film critic Chuck Stephens

Cast & Crew

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Fires on the Plain - The Criterion Collection
1. "That Will Be Your Final Duty" [5:59]
2. A Soldier's Journey/Opening Credits [7:04]
3. Native Dish [5:20]
4. "If You Can Walk, You're Not a Patient" [9:00]
5. Attack! [4:33]
6. Many Days Passes...And Many Nights [2:29]
7. The Price of Salt [8:34]
8. Oshima Company [6:39]
9. March of the Dead [3:02]
10. "Men Can't Live Without Tobacco" [3:34]
11. Boot Exchange [2:45]
12. The Road to Palompon [5:51]
13. Night Crossing [3:32]
14. Tale No Prisoners [4:06]
15. "Hey, Are You Dead?" [2:28]
16. Food for Thought [3:46]
17. Reunion [11:42]
18. "Monkey Meat" [8:11]
19. A Splash of Blood [4:15]
20. Fires on the Plain [1:31]
1. Color Bars [:00]

Customer Reviews