Director: Fredrik Edfeldt Cast: Blanca Engström, Shanti Roney, Annika Hallin


$28.90 $29.99 Save 4% Current price is $28.9, Original price is $29.99. You Save 4%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, August 29


A young girl makes a world of her own while scrutinizing the one her elders have created in this drama. A nine-year-old girl (Blanca Engström) growing up in Sweden finds herself left largely on her own when her parent leave for a vacation in Africa, believing she's too young to make the journey. The girl is left in the care of her aunt (Tova Magnusson-Norling), but she doesn't care for the concerns and constraints of the adult world, and she spends most of the summer looking after herself. The girl explores the various nooks and crannies of her house that are foreign to her, and then heads outside to take a closer look at the neighborhood. Her neighbor Tina (Emma Wigfeldt), who is a few years older, is preoccupied with the rituals of adolescence, most of which bore the girl, but she does strike up a friendship with Ola (Vidar Fors), a boy her age who joins her as she walks through the woods, and helps her rummage through a barn and try to make sense of the larger community around them. Flickan (aka The Girl) was the first feature film from director Fredrik Edfeldt.

Product Details

Release Date: 02/08/2011
UPC: 0887090027007
Original Release: 2009
Source: Olive Films
Region Code: 1
Time: 1:35:00
Sales rank: 27,346

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Blanca Engström The Girl [Flickan]
Shanti Roney Her Father
Annika Hallin Her Mother
Calle Lindqvist Petter
Tova Magnusson-Norling Anna
Leif Andree Gunnar
Ia Langhammer Elisabeth
Emma Wigfeldt Tina
Michelle Vistam Gisela
Vidar Fors Ola
Mats Blomgren Ola's Father

Technical Credits
Fredrik Edfeldt Director
Karin Arrhenius Screenwriter
Dan Berridge Score Composer
Richard Björlin Associate Producer
Therese Elfström Editor
Clas Gunnarsson Executive Producer
Malcolm Lidbeck Executive Producer
Malin Lindstrom Editor
David Olsson Producer
Poa Strömberg Executive Producer
Per Sundström Sound/Sound Designer
Hoyte van Hoytema Cinematographer

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- The Girl
1. Opening [:11]
2. Disappointment [8:32]
3. Visiting the Neighbors [8:00]
4. Home Alone [12:24]
5. The Lottery [11:01]
6. Loneliness [20:45]
7. Friends Again [9:24]
8. Stranger's Kindness [15:33]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews