Pub. Date:
Flying Tigers

Flying Tigers

John Wayne
Director: David Miller Cast: John Wayne
John Wayne
, John Carroll
John Carroll
, Anna Lee
Anna Lee
David Miller


View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, October 21


The Flying Tigers were a group of American volunteer aviators, flying against the Japanese on behalf of General Claire Chennault and Chinese leader Chiang Kai-Shek in the months just prior to World War II. John Wayne is the most responsible of the bunch, and John Carroll the least. It's bad enough that Carroll tries to beat Wayne's time with pretty Red Cross nurse Anna Lee; but when Carroll's negligence results in the death of veteran-flyer Paul Kelly, the man becomes a pariah to the rest of the pilots. Unable to serve in World War II due to health reasons, John Wayne spent the duration licking the Japanese and the Germans in front of a Republic Studios process screen.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 05/13/2014
UPC: 0887090077507
Original Release: 1942
Rating: NR
Source: Olive Films
Region Code: 1
Time: 1:42:00
Sales rank: 16,510

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
John Wayne Jim Gordon
John Carroll Woody Jason
Anna Lee Brooke Elliott
Paul Kelly Hap Davis
Mae Clarke Verna Bales
Gordon Jones Alabama Smith
Addison Richards Col. Lindsay
Edmund MacDonald Blackie Bales
Bill Shirley Dale
Tom Neal Reardon
Bud McTaggart McCurdy
David Bruce Lt. Barton
Chester Gan Mike
Gregg Barton Tex Norton
John James Selby
Jimmie Dodd McIntosh
Richard Loo Doctor
Charles Lane Airport official
Tom Seidel Barratt
Richard Crane Airfield Radio Man
Willie Fung Jim, the Waiter

Technical Credits
David Miller Director
Kenneth Gamet Screenwriter
Edmund Grainger Producer
Russell Kimball Art Director
Howard Lydecker Special Effects
Jack A. Marta Cinematographer
Ernest Nims Editor
Walter Scharf Musical Direction/Supervision
Barry Trivers Screenwriter
Victor Young Score Composer

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Flying Tigers
1. Chapter 1 [:00]
2. Chapter 2 [13:29]
3. Chapter 3 [14:11]
4. Chapter 4 [16:31]
5. Chapter 5 [10:08]
6. Chapter 6 [12:09]
7. Chapter 7 [10:19]
8. Chapter 8 [9:01]
9. Chapter 9 [15:51]

Customer Reviews