Frontline: The Wounded Platoon

Frontline: The Wounded Platoon

DVD (Wide Screen)

$23.87 $24.99 Save 4% Current price is $23.87, Original price is $24.99. You Save 4%.
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Monday, September 24?   Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Shipping at checkout.


Frontline: The Wounded Platoon

The municipality of Colorado Springs, Colorado - an apparently charming community situated about an hour south of Denver - might seem an unlikely source of mass tumult. But the city in fact bears a dark connection to the Iraq War of the early 21st Century. A U.S. Army base called Fort Carson is situated in the immediate vicinity , and witnessed the suicides of 36 servicemen and 11 homicides during the Iraq War period. And nearly all of those slayings emerged from the same U.S.A.F. unit: Third Platoon, Charlie Company, 1st Battalion of the 506th Infantry. But what events transpired in this unit to account for such horrors? As produced for the groundbreaking WGBH series Frontline and originally aired on PBS, this documentary program concurrently relays the horrifying tale of this drug and alcohol-riddled platoon, and asks unflinching, incisive questions about the mental, emotional and psychological impact of the Iraq War on ordinary young Americans - questions which lead to the inescapable conclusion that post-traumatic stress and repeat military tours of duty may returning an entire generation of servicemen to the homefront as deeply confused and tortured instruments of destruction.

Product Details

Release Date: 07/20/2010
UPC: 0841887012270
Original Release: 2010
Rating: NR
Source: Pbs (Direct)
Region Code: 1
Presentation: [Wide Screen]
Sound: [Dolby Digital Stereo]
Time: 1:30:00
Sales rank: 77,518

Special Features

Closed Caption

Cast & Crew

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Frontline: The Wounded Platoon
1. Introduction [2:19]
2. The Platoon's First Year In Iraq [10:23]
3. Fort Carson Confronts A Crisis [14:12]
4. Third Platoon's Second Iraq Tour [10:06]
5. "In Iraq, You've Got To Be Numb" [8:37]
6. Kenny Eastridge [13:30]
7. Coming Home [12:10]
8. A Reunion [12:42]
9. Credits [2:33]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews