Great Train Robbery, The (1 Dvd) (Mc)

Great Train Robbery, The (1 Dvd) (Mc)

Sean Connery
Director: Michael Crichton Cast: Sean Connery
Sean Connery
, Donald Sutherland
Donald Sutherland
, Lesley-Anne Down
Lesley-Anne Down
Michael Crichton


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Monday, December 13


Not a remake of the landmark 1903 Edwin S. Porter film, The Great Train Robbery is a dramatization of the famous first hold-up of a moving train in 1855 England. The conspirators in this undertaking are Edward Pierce (Sean Connery), Agar (Donald Sutherland) and Clean Willy (Wayne Sleep). Pierce is the brains, Clean Willy the brawn, and safecracker Agar provides the finesse. The scheme involves stealing a shipment of gold bars intended to be used in the payroll for the Army in the Crimean War. Lesley Anne Down co-stars as Miriam, the woman on the outside who arranges Connery's getaway. When released in England, this film was titled The First Great Train Robbery, so as not to be confused with Britain's embarrassing 1963 railroad heist. Director Michael Crichton adapted the story from his own, more-clinical novel on the same subject. Filmed in Ireland, The Great Train Robbery was dedicated to the memory of its director of photography, Geoffrey Unsworth, who died shortly after the production wrapped.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 02/01/2020
UPC: 0738329138523
Original Release: 1979
Source: Kino Studio Classics
Region Code: 1
Time: 1:50:00
Sales rank: 33,849

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Sean Connery Edward Pierce
Donald Sutherland Agar
Lesley-Anne Down Miriam
Wayne Sleep Clean Willy
Michael Elphick Burgess
Malcolm Terris Henry Fowler
Robert Lang Inspector Sharp
Alan Webb Edgar Trent
Pamela Salem Emily Trent
Gabrielle Lloyd Elizabeth Trent
James Cossins Inspector Harranby
Peter Benson Station Dispatcher
Janine Duvitski Maggie
Brooke Adams Actor
John Altman Actor
Donald Hewlett Actor
Derry Power Actor
Clive Swift Mr. Chubb
Cecil Nash Actor
Craig Stokes Actor
George Downing Bralow
John Bett McPherson
Andre Morell Judge
Donald Churchill Prosecutor
Brian Glover Captain Jimmy
Noel Johnson Connaught
Peter Butterworth Putnam
Patrick Barr Burke
Hubert Rees Lewis
Agnes Bernelle Woman on Platform
Joe Cahill Rail Guard
Oliver Smith Ratting Assistant
Paul Kernber Second Pickpocket
Jenny Till Woman on Stand

Technical Credits
Michael Crichton Director,Screenwriter
Derek Ball Sound/Sound Designer
David Bretherton Editor
Maurice Carter Production Designer
Bert Davey Art Director
Dino de Laurentiis Producer
John C. Foreman Producer
Jerry Goldsmith Score Composer
Anthony Mendleson Costumes/Costume Designer
Basil Newall Makeup
Liam Saurin Sound/Sound Designer
Hugh Scaife Set Decoration/Design
Geoffrey Unsworth Cinematographer
Anthony Waye Asst. Director
Dick Ziker Stunts

Customer Reviews