Happy People: A Year in the Taiga

Happy People: A Year in the Taiga

Werner Herzog
Werner Herzog
Director: Dmitry Vasyukov Cast: Werner Herzog
Dmitry Vasyukov


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Friday, August 6


Filmmakers Dmitriy Yasyukov and Werner Herzog team to offer a portrait of the rugged, self-sufficient Siberian trappers who lead incredibly difficult yet fulfilling lives far outside the confines of contemporary society. Though the southern region of Siberia is populous and prosperous, a long journey north eventually leads to the village of Bakhita, on the edge of the Yenisei river. With a population of just 300, Bakhita is reachable only by helicopter or boat, and offers no telephone lines or running water. The lives of the people who live there have changed little in the last few hundred years, and as a result, they're experts in living off of the land. By examining the culture and traditions of Bakhita, Yasyukov and Herzog challenge our concept of what it really means to live a truly free life.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 04/23/2013
UPC: 0741360538191
Original Release: 2011
Source: Music Box Films
Time: 1:34:00
Sales rank: 37,343

Special Features

Werner Herzog Introduction Chasing Spring In West Siberia Documentary Siberia Fact Sheet Theatrical Trailer

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Werner Herzog Narrator

Technical Credits
Werner Herzog Director,Executive Producer,Screenwriter
Dmitry Vasyukov Director,Editor
Klaus Badelt Score Composer,Executive Producer
Timur Bekmambetov Executive Producer
Joe Bini Editor
Yanko Damboulev Executive Producer
Christoph Fisser Producer
Rudolph Herzog Screenwriter
Alexey Matveev Cinematographer
Thomas Nickel Co-producer
Maxim Perepelkin Editor
Vladimir Perepelkin Producer
Nick N. Raslan Producer
Arthur Sibirski Cinematographer
Alexey Stanevich Editor
Gleb Stepanov Cinematographer
Michael Tarkovsky Cinematographer
Charlie Woebcken Producer

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Happy People: A Year in the Taiga
1. Chapter 1 [:08]
2. Chapter 2 [:02]
3. Chapter 3 [:40]
4. Chapter 4 [10:00]
5. Chapter 5 [10:00]
6. Chapter 6 [10:00]
7. Chapter 7 [10:00]
8. Chapter 8 [10:00]
9. Chapter 9 [10:09]
10. Chapter 10 [9:50]
11. Chapter 11 [10:00]
12. Chapter 12 [10:00]
13. Chapter 13 [4:18]

Customer Reviews