Hell and Back Again

Hell and Back Again

Director: Danfung Dennis Cast: Nathan Harris, Ashley Harris, Christian Cabaniss


$28.90 $29.99 Save 4% Current price is $28.9, Original price is $29.99. You Save 4%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Wednesday, October 24  Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.


Hell and Back Again

A soldier dealing with the painful consequences of war finds coming home isn't much of a consolation in this documentary. Filmmaker Danfung Dennis was embedded with a Marine platoon fighting in Afghanistan in 2009, where violence and street skirmishes could break out at any time. One of the soldiers Dennis followed was Nathan Harris, who was shot in the hip shortly before he was due to return home. Recuperating from a badly injured leg, Nathan soon found himself at home, being looked after by his wife, Ashley Harris, and struggling with boredom and feelings of powerlessness after months on edge. As his marriage begins to buckle and he becomes increasingly reliant on pain medication, Nathan is subject to severe mood swings and openly states he wishes he were back in Afghanistan, where at the very least he was in control of his circumstances and not dependent on others. Director Dennis offers a telling portrait of the horrors of the battlefield as well as the uncomfortable quiet of the home front. Hell and Back Again was an official selection at the 2011 Sundance Film Festival.

Product Details

Release Date: 01/24/2012
UPC: 0767685254400
Original Release: 2010
Source: New Video Group
Region Code: 0
Sound: [Dolby Digital Stereo, Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround]
Time: 1:28:00
Sales rank: 76,757

Special Features

Audio Commentary with Director Danfung Dennis and Editor Fiona Otway; Technical Gear Demo: How Hell and Back Again was filmed; Willie Nelson's "Hell and Back" Slide Show; Deleted Scenes

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Nathan Harris Participant
Ashley Harris Participant
Christian Cabaniss Participant
Eric Meador Participant
Edward Hubbard Participant
Terry Roberts Participant
Doug Webb Participant
Robert Gaines Participant
Matthew Swibe Participant
Chris MacDonald Participant

Technical Credits
Danfung Dennis Director
Thomas Brunner Executive Producer
Dan Cogan Executive Producer
Maxyne Franklin Executive Producer
Martin Herring Producer
Mike Lerner Producer
Karol Martesko-Fenster Executive Producer
Fiona Otway Editor
J. Ralph Score Composer,Songwriter,Sound/Sound Designer
Gernot Schaffler Executive Producer

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Hell and Back Again
1. Summer Of Decision [3:29]
2. Pushing [5:41]
3. Hell and Back Again [7:34]
4. Call Of Duty [5:04]
5. Meds [11:18]
6. Heavy Guns [7:14]
7. Trapped In The Middle [10:51]
8. Unbroken Circle [6:07]
9. Security [8:14]
10. Boiling Point [10:15]
11. My Soul To Keep [6:06]
12. Breathe [2:58]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews