Hell in the Pacific

Hell in the Pacific

Lee Marvin
Director: John Boorman Cast: Lee Marvin
Lee Marvin
, Toshiro Mifune
Toshiro Mifune
John Boorman


View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Monday, August 2


The entire cast of Hell in the Pacific consists of two high-powered international stars: Lee Marvin and Toshiro Mifune. The time is World War II. A downed American marine pilot (Marvin), is stalked on a remote Pacific island by a Japanese navy officer (Mifune). The Japanese officer captures the American, but this situation is reversed when he manages to wriggle free. The two enemies finally decide to live and let live, each moving to their own separate portion of the island. By and by the adversaries come to rely upon one another to survive; they set up living quarters in a deserted camp, get drunk together, and almost -- but not quite -- become friends. The present ending of Hell in the Pacific is greatly at odds with director John Boorman's original vision, in which the Japanese officer angrily kills two Japanese soldiers who have come across the American and decapitated him. As it now stands, viewers are left with an explosive "lady or the tiger" denouement.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 06/27/2017
UPC: 0738329215071
Original Release: 1968
Rating: G
Source: Kl Studio Classics
Region Code: 1
Time: 1:43:00
Sales rank: 6,378

Special Features

On-camera interview with director John Boorman; Audio commentary by film historian Travis Crawford and Bill Ackerman; Interview with art director Anthony Pratt; Alternate ending; Trailer gallery

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Lee Marvin American Soldier
Toshiro Mifune Japanese Soldier

Technical Credits
John Boorman Director
Lloyd Anderson Production Manager
Eric Bercovici Screenwriter
Reuben Bercovitch Producer
Jordan S. Cronenweth Camera Operator
Conrad L. Hall Cinematographer
Alexander Jacobs Screenwriter
Makoto Kikuchi Set Decoration/Design
Shigeo Kobayashi Makeup
Clem Portman Sound/Sound Designer
Anthony Pratt Art Director
Henry G. Saperstein Executive Producer
Lalo Schifrin Score Composer
Selig J. Seligman Executive Producer
Thomas G. Stanford Editor
Kinishige Tanaka Special Effects
Masao Yamazaki Art Director
Joe Zomar Special Effects

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Legion of Brothers
1. Chapter 1
2. Chapter 2
3. Chapter 3
4. Chapter 4
5. Chapter 5
6. Chapter 6
7. Chapter 7
8. Chapter 8
1. Chapter 1
2. Chapter 2
3. Chapter 3
4. Chapter 4
5. Chapter 5
6. Chapter 6
7. Chapter 7
8. Chapter 8

Customer Reviews