Herbert Von Karajan - His Legacy for Home Video: Verdi Requiem

Herbert Von Karajan - His Legacy for Home Video: Verdi Requiem

DVD (Dolby 5.1 / Stereo)

Product Details

Release Date: 08/21/2001
UPC: 0074645348193
Original Release: 2001
Rating: NR
Source: Sony
Region Code: 1
Sound: [Dolby Digital, stereo]
Time: 0:51:00

Scene Index

Side #1 --
1. Opening [:48]
2. I.Requiem & Kyrie/II.Dies Irae [8:10]
3. "Dies Irae,dies illa" [2:22]
4. "Tuba mirum spargens sonum" [3:43]
5. "Liber scriptus proferetur" [5:11]
6. "Quid sum miser" [3:58]
7. "Rex tremendae majestatis" [3:54]
8. "Recordare,Jesu pie" [4:23]
9. "Ingemisco tamquam reus" [4:03]
10. "Confutatis maldictis" [6:03]
11. "Lacrymosa dies illa" [6:15]
12. III.Offertorio [11:36]
13. IV.Sanctus [3:01]
14. V.Agnus Dei [4:35]
15. VI.Lux Aeterna [6:48]
16. VII.Libera Me [13:58]
17. Closing titles & credits [1:34]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Herbert Von Karajan - His Legacy for Home Video: Verdi Requiem 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I'm sure that I would have been impressed by this performance if I had been in the audience. But if you're in the market for a DVD of Verdi's Requiem, you can do better than this one. Karajan's tempos are a little sluggish; the choral work is not quite first-rate; and the soloists, although they are all excellent singers, fall short of the timbral and stylistic rightness found in a couple of other recordings. The two best DVD performances of this work are the earlier one of Karajan (Italy, 1967) and Claudio Abbado's recent Berlin version (not his older Edinburgh one). Karajan's 1967 solo quartet (Leontyne Price, Fiorenza Cossotto, Luciano Pavarotti and Nicolai Ghiaurov) is the best, not only on DVD, but in any modern recording. The younger Karajan conducts with greater energy and control than the older one, and the orchestral and choral work are better in the earlier recording. Abbado's 2001 Berlin version has even more thrilling orchestral and choral contributions than either of Karajan's, plus superior picture and sound, and extra DVD features. His soloists are excellent, too, although less stellar than Karajan's (in 1967). If you're looking for your first DVD of this piece, I suggest you try one or the other of those two instead of Karajan/Vienna.