Invitation to Hell

Invitation to Hell

DVD (Pan & Scan / Stereo)

Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


Invitation to Hell

This minor made-for-TV effort from horror auteur Wes Craven is one of the oddest attempts at seriously blending supernatural horror and science fiction elements, which amounts to a muddled but amusing failure. The convoluted plot involves scientist Robert Urich's experiments with a new spacesuit designed to detect non-human lifeforms for a proposed expedition to Venus. When a sultry succubus (Susan Lucci, who was born for such a role) begins exerting her demonic influence on the members of a country club -- including Urich's wife and children -- he dons the completed suit for a literal journey into hell itself to rescue them. Craven's skill manages to elevate this loopy premise slightly above the level of pure nonsense, but low production values and the constraints of TV censorship prevent it from being adequately explored.

Product Details

Release Date: 08/19/2003
UPC: 0012236143154
Original Release: 1984
Rating: NR
Source: Lions Gate
Region Code: 1
Presentation: [Full Frame]
Sound: [stereo]
Time: 1:40:00

Special Features

Closed Caption; Full screen version; 2.0 Digital Stereo; Digitally mastered; Scene access; Interactive menus; Closed captions

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Susan Lucci Actor
Robert Urich Actor
Joanna Cassidy Actor
Joe Regalbuto Actor
Kevin McCarthy Actor
Colin Efford Actor
Soleil Moon Frye Actor
Stephen Longhurst Actor
Patty McCormack Actor
Joseph Sheahan Actor
Becky Simpson Actor
Michael Berryman Actor
Barret Oliver Actor
Jason Presson Actor
Nicholas Worth Actor

Technical Credits
Wes Craven Director
Dean Cundey Cinematographer
Silvester Levay Score Composer
John M. Poer Asst. Director
Richard Rothstein Screenwriter
John N. Whittle Asst. Director

Scene Index

Side #1 --
1. Steaming Springs, the Beginning [4:27]
2. The New House [8:50]
3. Welcome Aboard [6:13]
4. Astro Bomber Revenge [3:28]
5. The Club [6:35]
6. Tom Gets Promoted [7:25]
7. Where's Mrs. Henderson? [2:05]
8. Let's Take a Tour [7:18]
9. Let's Join! [6:44]
10. The Vet [3:03]
11. A Mood Change [3:47]
12. Crazy Patricia [5:58]
13. Confidential [6:05]
14. What a Family [5:28]
15. Halloween Party [2:17]
16. The Doors of Hell [4:22]
17. Environment: Unknown [6:45]
18. We Made It!/Closing Credits [4:36]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews