Jerry Lee Lewis: I Am What I Am

Jerry Lee Lewis: I Am What I Am

Director: Mark Hall Cast: Steve Allen, Paul Anka, Chuck Berry



Follow the life of the man whose reckless antics at the piano injected rock-and-roll with a much-needed sense of danger before his career was momentarily sidelined by a scandalous love affair in this documentary profile of musical outlaw Jerry Lee Lewis. A man who truly lived as wildly as he played the piano, Lewis would face harrowing personal battles with drugs and alcohol before returning to the music scene as a country and western singer in the 1970s. In addition to insight from such contemporaries as Johnny Cash, Kris Kristofferson, Mickey Gilley, and Chuck Berry, this personal profile also offers rare footage of Lewis performing such hits as "Great Balls of Fire" and "Whole Lotta Shakin' Goin On."

Product Details

Release Date: 10/26/2004
UPC: 0032031172593
Original Release: 1989
Rating: NR
Source: White Star
Time: 1:00:00

Cast & Crew

Scene Index

Side #1 --
1. "I Am What I Am" [4:39]
2. The Roots of "The Killer" [4:05]
3. Marriage Times Two [1:47]
4. Knockin' on Doors in Nashville [1:11]
5. Auditioning at Sun Records [1:39]
6. "Crazy Arms" [1:41]
7. First National Exposure [2:22]
8. "Whole Lotta Shakin' Goin On" [3:30]
9. "Great Balls of Fire" [3:11]
10. Another Marriage Another Tour [3:02]
11. Rock Under the Microscope [2:54]
12. Controversy in Britain [2:51]
13. Sanitized Rock N Roll [1:34]
14. Trouble at Sun [1:37]
15. "What'd I Say" [3:20]
16. Tragedy at Home [1:41]
17. The "Hit" That Wasn't [1:20]
18. Back on the Charts, Country Style [2:04]
19. A Decade of Heartbreak [1:28]
20. Legal and Health Problems [4:03]
21. "Don't Put No Headstone on My Grave" [2:03]
22. "Rockin' My Life Away"/Credits [3:54]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews