Director: Peter Rosen Cast: Eric Bogosian, Aram Khachaturian

DVD (Black & White / Stereo / Mono)

Want it by Tuesday, November 20 Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/26/2004
UPC: 0089948429890
Original Release: 2003
Rating: NR
Source: Video Artists Int'l
Region Code: 0
Presentation: [B&W]
Sound: [stereo, monaural]
Time: 2:13:00
Sales rank: 49,480

Special Features

Khachaturian: Concerto-Rhapsody for Cello and Orchestra (1963; dedicated to Rostropovich), 24 min.; Making "Khachaturian," 17 min. - behind-the-scenes conversations with the filmmakers; Khachaturian: Piano Concerto - Third Movement, 9 min.

Cast & Crew

Scene Index

Side #1 --
1. Opening Credits & Prologue [3:54]
2. Composers United in a Cause [2:12]
3. The Rhythms of the Caucasus [3:59]
4. The Russian Revolution [4:18]
5. Armenian Nationalism in Khachaturian's Music [3:54]
6. Death of Lenin & Stalin's Rise to Power [5:59]
7. Khachaturian's Family Life [4:07]
8. Gayaneh and the "Sabre Dance" [6:42]
9. Aftermath of the War [2:47]
10. "Anti-People" Composers [8:32]
11. Effects of the Blacklist [7:53]
12. Spartacus [12:58]
13. Death of Stalin [6:07]
14. Final Tour to the Caucasus [6:04]
15. Epilogue & Closing Credits [2:45]
16. Postscript: Khachaturian Plays the "Sabre Dance" [:45]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Khachaturian 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This documentary consists of archival and recent footage accompanied by first-person narration drawn from Khachaturian's autobiography and other writings. The documentary covers all of Khachaturian's life and views Khachaturian within the broader context of 20th-century Russian music and Russian society. Although I found the first-person narration a bit irritating at times, the documentary overall is very informative and very entertaining. The single best part of the documentary is contemporary Armenian composer Tigran Mansurian's remarkable insights into the music of Shostakovich, Prokofiev, and Khachaturian. The DVD also includes archival footage of Rostropovich playing the Concerto-Rhapsody for Cello and Orchestra and a recent music video featuring the third movement of the Piano Concerto.