Hideyo Amamoto
Director: Kihachi Okamoto Cast: Hideyo Amamoto
Hideyo Amamoto
, Yuriko Hoshi
Yuriko Hoshi
, Shigeru Koyama
Shigeru Koyama
Kihachi Okamoto

DVD (Black & White / Wide Screen)

Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Monday, May 10


Kihachi Okamoto's Kiru (aka Kill!) stands among the major Japanese samurai films of the 1960s as a satire that delivers equal parts bloody swordplay and jet-black comedy, and The Criterion Collection have finally given it the North American video release it richly deserves with this DVD. Kill! has been transferred to disc in letterboxed format at the widescreen aspect ratio of 2.35:1, and the image has also been enhanced for anamorphic playback on 16 x 9 monitors. Rokuro Nishigaki's camerawork, dominated by bold Cinemascope framings and stark images of blood and swirling dust, has been given the care it deserves, with the robust bit rate giving the broad range of gray hues and the richly detailed compositions their due -- this is a simply great-looking disc. It sounds good too; the original monophonic audio has been mastered in Dolby Digital Mono, and sounds sharp and clear throughout. The dialogue is in Japanese, with optional English subtitles that are clear and easy to read. By Criterion's standards, this release is a bit short on extras; the only bonus items are two trailers and a fine liner essay from Howard Hampton. But anyone who appreciates classic Japanese genre cinema will want to see this overlooked classic, and Criterion's release allows the film to look every bit as good as it deserves.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/04/2005
UPC: 0037429209929
Original Release: 1968
Source: Criterion Collection
Region Code: 1
Presentation: [B&W, Wide Screen]
Sound: [Dolby Digital, Dolby Digital Mono]
Time: 1:54:00
Sales rank: 45,631

Special Features

New, restored high-definition digital transfer; Original theatrical trailer and teaser; New and improved English subtitle translation; A new essay by film and culture critic Howard Hampton

Cast & Crew

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Kill!
1. Two Hungry Samurai... and a Chicken [7:05]
2. Tetsutaro Oikawa, Reformer [3:02]
3. Assassination Plot [7:15]
4. Old Man Moriuchi [2:15]
5. Hanjiro Tabata, Farmer [8:23]
6. Shimpo Temple [8:16]
7. Hideout at Mount Toride [3:58]
8. Plotting an Ambush [6:13]
9. Jurota Arao, Squad Leader [1:37]
10. Dead Men's Plans [8:45]
11. Horseplay with Shinroku [2:01]
12. The Ronin Brigade [5:23]
13. "Samurai Are No Good" [5:56]
14. Message to Edo [5:01]
15. Genta's Story [2:32]
16. Dogs and Cats [5:57]
17. Desperation [6:08]
18. "Giving Up on Being a Samurai?" [3:23]
19. Preparations for Battle [3:24]
20. Leaving the Fort [4:47]
21. Fire Tongs [5:20]
22. Festival Time [2:53]
23. Yagenta Hyogo, Samurai [1:31]
24. Color Bars [3:16]

Customer Reviews