Item is available through our marketplace sellers and in stores.



With a plot more tangled than a spider's broken web, this French drama follows the romantic obsession of Max (Vincent Cassel), a young corporate hotshot who leaves his successful new world behind to search for his elusive lost love Lisa (Monica Bellucci). His mad quest begins after he accidentally overhears Lisa's melodic voice speaking in the phone booth next door. But before he knows it she is gone. Still, he is so elated that he abandons his plans, lies to his fiancee, and after leaving his luggage with his pal Lucien (Jean-Philippe Ecoffey), sets off to find her. The hunt leads to a fabulous apartment, where he saves a girl from a suicide thinking that she is Lisa. But this girl, Alice (Romane Bohringer) is as drab and mousy as Max's Lisa is beautifully feline. Max becomes involved with Alice, unaware that she also dates Lucien. Meanwhile the real Lisa attempts to break free from her obsessive rich lover who may have murdered his wife. For this reason, she continues to avoid her apartment, which she has generously loaned to Alice. When these characters collide, the stage is set for a tragic denouement.

Product Details

Release Date: 08/22/2006
UPC: 0031398197560
Original Release: 1996
Rating: NR
Source: Lions Gate
Region Code: 1
Time: 1:56:00

Special Features

16x9 widescreen; French 2.0 Dolby Stereo; English subtitles; Trailers

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Romane Bohringer Alice
Vincent Cassel Max
Monica Bellucci Lisa
Jean-Philippe Ecoffey Lucien
Sandrine Kiberlain Muriel
Olivier Granier Actor
Paul Pavel Actor

Technical Credits
Gilles Mimouni Director,Screenwriter
Thierry Arbogast Cinematographer
Georges Benayoun Producer
Caroline Biggerstaff Editor
Françoise Bonnot Editor
Peter Chase Songwriter
Philippe Chiffre Production Designer
Elisabeth Devoisse Executive Producer
Eric Devulder Sound/Sound Designer
Laurence Heller Costumes/Costume Designer
Bernard Pujolar Asst. Director
Luc Riff Asst. Director
Vincent Tulli Sound Editor,Sound/Sound Designer
Sylvie Zade-Routier Asst. Director

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- L'Appartement
1. Opening Credits [9:47]
2. The Theater [10:40]
3. The Coffee Shop [9:34]
4. My Keys [11:13]
5. Winter Memories [8:20]
6. Lisa! No! [9:52]
7. The Phone Booth [10:44]
8. Surprise Visit [9:48]
9. Max's Note [9:59]
10. Deceptive Love [10:59]
11. The Meeting [12:31]
12. Ending Credits [2:52]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews