Les Visiteurs Du Soir

Les Visiteurs Du Soir

Director: Marcel Carné Cast: Arletty, Jules Berry, Marie Déa

DVD (B&W / Full Frame)

$28.14 $29.99 Save 6% Current price is $28.14, Original price is $29.99. You Save 6%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Monday, October 23 ,  Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.


Les Visiteurs Du Soir

Originally released in 1942 as Les Visiteurs du Soir, The Devil's Envoys is another masterful collaboration between actress Arletty, writer Jacques Prevert and director Marcel Carne, who would team up one year later for the brilliant Les Enfants Du Paradis. The film is predicated on the 15th century French legend, wherein the Devil, disturbed by the encroaching forces of Good, sends his envoys to Earth to drive the citizens to despair. The Devil, played by Jules Berry in a subtly Hitler-like fashion (a chancy artistic decision in the days of the Occupation), is thwarted when his agents are unable to overcome the power of true love. Even after the lovers are turned to stone for defying His Satanic Majesty, their hearts continue to beat for each other.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/18/2012
UPC: 0715515099011
Original Release: 1942
Source: Criterion
Region Code: 1
Presentation: [B&W, Full Frame]
Time: 2:01:00
Sales rank: 26,180

Special Features

L'aventure des "Visiteurs du soir," a 2009 documentary on the making of the film; Trailer

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Arletty Dominique
Jules Berry Devil
Marie Déa Anne
Marcel Herrand Baron Renaud
Fernand Ledoux Baron Hugues
Alain Cuny Giles
Gabriel Gabrio La Bourreau
Pierre Labry Le Gros Seignor
Roger Blin Actor
Jean D'Yd Actor

Technical Credits
Marcel Carné Director
Léon Barsacq Production Designer
Roger Hubert Cinematographer
Joseph Kosma Score Composer
Pierre Laroche Screenwriter
Charles Munch Musical Direction/Supervision
André Paulve Producer
Jacques Prévert Screenwriter
Henri Rust Editor
Maurice Thiriet Score Composer
Alexandre Trauner Production Designer
Georges Wakhévitch Art Director

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Les Visiteurs du Soir
1. Overture [2:37]
2. Riding to the Castle [4:49]
3. Demons and Marvels [9:52]
4. Dancing Suspended [6:10]
5. Moonlight Serenade [9:01]
6. Two Executioners [6:13]
7. Baron Hugues [3:41]
8. Nighttime Indiscretions [4:21]
9. The Hunt [4:20]
10. Secret Lovers [9:55]
11. The Truth [6:40]
12. An Unexpected Guest [8:43]
13. Devilish Games [9:34]
14. Anne's Declaration [4:40]
15. The Duel [6:33]
16. Future Plans [6:45]
17. "Wherever Yo Go, I Go" [2:53]
18. Deal with the Devil [9:25]
19. Lovers at the Fountain [4:47]
20. Color Bars [:00]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews