Malice in Wonderland

Malice in Wonderland

Director: Gus Trikonis Cast: Richard Dysart, Joyce Van Patten, Leslie Ackerman


View All Available Formats & Editions

Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


Malice in Wonderland

When the made-for-TV The Rumor Mill first aired on May 12, 1985, it bore the title Malice in Wonderland. This joyously inaccurate biopic concerns itself with Hollywood's two foremost gossipmongers of the 1930s and 1940s: Louella Parsons and Hedda Hopper. Long involved in the film industry, Parsons used her ironclad relationship with publishing mogul William Randolph Hearst and the "confidential" information gleaned by her physician husband Harry "Docky" Martin to outscoop every other columnist in Tinseltown. Parsons' awesome power remained unchallenged until 1938, when Hedda Hopper, a character actress fallen on hard times, was hired as a gossip reporter by one of Hearst's rivals. Thereafter, it was every woman for herself: the blood feud between Parsons and Hopper raged unabated until the latter's death in 1966. Jane Alexander's on-target portrayal of Hedda Hopper won her an Emmy nomination; no less impressive (though not as accurate in her characterization) is Elizabeth Taylor as Louella Parsons. Other Emmy nominations went to the costume design and sound mixing, while Philip H. Lathrop won the statuette for his '30s-style photography. The "look who that is" supporting cast includes Richard Dysart as Louis B. Mayer, Eric Purcell as Orson Welles, Tim Robbins as Joseph Cotten (who once booted Louella in the derriere), Jason Wingreen as Jack Warner, Gary Wayne as Clark Gable, Denise Crosby as Carole Lombard, and Thomas Byrd as Hedda Hopper's actor-son William. Adapted from George Eels' waspish book Hedda and Louella, Malice in Wonderland is delightful, high-class claptrap.

Product Details

Release Date: 11/21/2011
UPC: 0089353709525
Original Release: 1985
Source: S'more Entertainment
Region Code: 1
Sound: [Dolby Digital Stereo]
Time: 1:34:00

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Richard Dysart Actor
Joyce Van Patten Actor
Leslie Ackerman Actor
Bonnie Bartlett Actor
Jon Cypher Actor
Jane Alexander Hedda Hopper
Denise Crosby Actor
Tim Robbins Actor
Elizabeth Taylor Louells Parsons
Jason Wingreen Actor
Rick Lenz Actor
John Pleshette Actor
Thomas Byrd Actor
Thomas Bellin Actor
Joel Colodner Actor
Robert Darnell Actor
Douglas Emerson Actor
Edith Fields Actor
Lyla Graham Actor
Anne Haney Actor
Mary McCusker Actor
Mark L. Taylor Actor
Galen Thompson Actor
Nancy Travis Actor
Jan Triska Actor
Keith Walker Actor
B.J. Ward Actor
Vernon Weddle Actor
Noni White Actor
Allen Williams Actor
Theodore Wilson Actor

Technical Credits
Gus Trikonis Director
Jay Benson Producer
Charles Bernstein Score Composer
Allan Jacobs Editor
John D. Jefferies Production Designer
Philip H. Lathrop Cinematographer
Nolan Miller Costumes/Costume Designer
Mina Mittleman Costumes/Costume Designer
Rebecca Ross Editor
David Seidler Screenwriter
Keith A. Wester Sound/Sound Designer

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Malice in Wonderland
1. It's a Jungle [14:17]
2. Big Break [9:06]
3. Hollywood Royalty [18:50]
4. No More Nothing [10:56]
5. Scooped [4:56]
6. Dinner Party [9:52]
7. Free Publicity [8:19]
8. Honesty [17:51]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews