Mark Duplass
Director: Geoff Marslett Cast: Mark Duplass
Mark Duplass
, Zoe Simpson
Zoe Simpson
, Paul Gordon
Paul Gordon
Geoff Marslett

DVD (Color / Wide Screen)

Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, May 13


Three astronauts experience unexpected adventure en route to a distant planet in this independent sci-fi comedy. A robotic space probe is sent by French scientists to the planet Mars, but the machine goes haywire after someone sneezes on it and it loses its way en route to the Red Planet. A second robot is sent on the same mission, but the machine takes it upon itself to rescue its mechanical sibling, and just before crashing into the Martian surface the robot sends back an image suggesting there's life on the planet. The United States quickly puts together a manned mission to Mars, with the heroic but inept Charlie Brownsville (Mark Duplass) joined by his more capable colleagues Dr. Casey Cook (Zoe Simpson) and Hank Morrison (Paul Gordon). As the crew struggles to beat their European rivals to Mars, Charlie tries to find a way to live up to his image and Casey and Hank discover that love can thrive outside Earth's atmosphere. Director Geoff Marslett shot Mars using digital equipment, and then used a new computer-assisted rotoscoping technique to give the images a special cartoon-influenced visual style; the film also includes a supporting performance from author, musician, and political gadfly Kinky Friedman as the President of the United States.

Product Details

Release Date: 11/19/2013
UPC: 0187830004122
Original Release: 2010
Source: Brink
Region Code: 0
Presentation: [Wide Screen, Color]
Sound: [Dolby Digital Stereo, Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround]
Time: 1:21:00
Sales rank: 54,235

Special Features

Extra scenes; Green screen version of scenes; Commentary; A look at Geoff Marslett's Mars

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Mark Duplass Charlie Brownsville
Zoe Simpson Dr. Casey Cook
Paul Gordon Hank Morrison
Howe Gelb Shep
Liza Weil Jewel
James Kochalka Jackson
Cynthia M. Watros Allison Guthrie
Kinky Friedman US President
Michael Dolan Voice Only
Don Hertzfeldt Voice Only

Technical Credits
Geoff Marslett Director,Animator,Editor,Producer,Screenwriter
Bob Kellough Sound/Sound Designer
Javier Bonafont Producer
Jason Eitelbach Cinematographer
David Fabelo Editor
Self-Assembly Films Animator
Howe Gelb Score Composer
Robert Howell Producer
Anish Savjani Producer

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Mars
1. Gesundheit [10:12]
2. Blast Off [6:08]
3. Alone Time [7:15]
4. Rough Landing [4:19]
5. NTK [6:26]
6. Take A Dip [5:58]
7. Brace Yourselves [6:26]
8. Going Outside [8:50]
9. A.R.T. Dream [7:56]
10. Technically, We're The Aliens [7:01]
11. I Heart You [5:39]
12. Credits [4:48]

Customer Reviews