Masterpiece Classic: Downton Abbey Season 1

Masterpiece Classic: Downton Abbey Season 1

Hugh Bonneville
 Cast: Hugh Bonneville
Hugh Bonneville
, Jessica Brown Findlay
Jessica Brown Findlay
, Laura Carmichael
Laura Carmichael
, Elizabeth McGovern
Elizabeth McGovern


Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


After a tragedy at sea claims the life of the presumed heir, Lord Crawley is faced with the possibility that the house he's loved his whole life might someday belong to a distant cousin he's never met. But before that can happen he must deal with his scandalous daughter, Lady Mary -- considered by many to be the rightful heir to Downton. Even the staff has opinions on the family's affairs. And while most are devoted to the Crawleys, there are others whose selfishness and scheming do more than simply disrupt the well-oiled inner workings of the estate. As the servants' mischief escalates, even the most faithful employees begin to imagine a different life. A star-studded cast (Dame Maggie Smith, Hugh Bonneville, Elizabeth McGovern, Brendan Coyle, Dan Stevens) round out the glittering, gossipy, and beguiling men and women of this epic tale. Pitting hundreds of years of British aristocracy against the tides of social upheaval and technical progress, under the looming shadow of World War I, will the fate of Downton and its family -- above and below stairs -- be resolved? Or will life be altered so dramatically that its master no longer matters? DVD bonus features include "The Making of Downton Abbey and "A House in History. This DVD presents the production in its unedited UK version.

Product Details

Release Date: 01/11/2011
UPC: 0841887013925
Original Release: 0000
Rating: NR
Source: Pbs (Direct)
Region Code: 1
Time: 6:00:00

Special Features

Downton Abbey: The Making Of; Downton Abbey: A House in History

Cast & Crew

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Downton Abbey
1. News at Breakfast [9:24]
2. The New Valet [9:36]
3. A Question of Inheritence [9:58]
4. A Chance [8:29]
5. Exploring [15:13]
6. Changing Lives [12:58]
1. A Lawyer in the Family [10:36]
2. The Compliment of a Visit [11:17]
3. An Unhidden Past [13:49]
4. Playing Parts [11:52]
Disc #2 -- Downton Abbey
1. English Hospitality [13:43]
2. The Grip of Madness [14:28]
3. Keeping Secrets [8:56]
4. A Lack of Control [10:23]
1. Seeking Unlikely Legal Counsel [8:43]
2. A Night at the Fair [9:53]
3. A Difficult Situation [14:37]
4. Lost Souls [12:51]
1. In Lady Mary's Bedroom [9:29]
2. Things Unsaid [12:45]
3. Daisy Sets Down Her Burden [11:54]
4. Fighting Fire with Fire [13:27]
Disc #3 -- Downton Abbey
1. Unrest in Ripon [9:56]
2. News from London [10:45]
3. Sybil's Disobedience [11:29]
4. Having Faith [14:25]
1. A Surprise Pregnancy [8:15]
2. About Mr. Bates [9:10]
3. Preparing for War [15:00]
4. Change [9:25]
5. An Accident in the Bath [9:01]
6. At the Garden Party [11:45]

Customer Reviews