Matthew Barney: No Restraint

Matthew Barney: No Restraint

Director: Alison Chernick Cast: Björk, Barbara Gladstone


$28.87 $29.99 Save 4% Current price is $28.87, Original price is $29.99. You Save 4%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Friday, March 23 ,  Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.


Matthew Barney: No Restraint

With his acclaimed Cremaster Cycle and 2005 feature Drawing Restraint 9, avant-garde artist Matthew Barney established himself as a bold experimentalist who wasn't afraid to take a few risks for the sake of his art. Set into motion in the late '80s, Barney's Drawing Restraint series consists of works in which the artist attempts to create works while hindered by physical weights and barriers. The result, claims Barney are creations that are much more rewarding due to the difficulty it takes to render them. With Drawing Restraint 9, the artist teamed with his wife, Björk, to tell the tale of a couple who boards a Japanese whaling ship to partake in a series of obscure rituals -- including a ceremony that took place in a tank filled with 45,000 pounds of petroleum jelly. For fans longing to see how the innovative artist achieves his unique vision, this documentary by filmmaker Alison Chernick mixes clips from Drawing Restraint 9 with interviews and footage of Barney playing high-school football to create a comprehensive look at her subject's entire career. Additional conversations with Guggenheim curator Nancy Spector, New York Times art critic Michael Kimmelman, 21st Century Museum of Contemporary Art chief curator Yuko Hasegawa, and more, this portrait of Barney transcends the trappings of your typical making-of documentary. Björk and Mayumi Miyata collaborate to create the musical score.

Product Details

Release Date: 04/12/2016
UPC: 0738329205218
Original Release: 2006
Rating: NR
Source: Lorber Films (Kino)
Region Code: 1
Time: 1:11:00
Sales rank: 76,385

Cast & Crew

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Matthew Barney: No Restraint
1. Chapter 1 [10:27]
2. Chapter 2 [4:31]
3. Chapter 3 [6:38]
4. Chapter 4 [6:47]
5. Chapter 5 [4:55]
6. Chapter 6 [8:53]
7. Chapter 7 [6:32]
8. Chapter 8 [8:23]
9. Chapter 9 [4:51]
10. Chapter 10 [9:00]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews