Sean Penn
Director: Gus Van Sant Cast: Sean Penn
Sean Penn
, Emile Hirsch
Emile Hirsch
, Josh Brolin
Josh Brolin
Gus Van Sant

DVD (Color / Wide Screen)

$11.99 $14.99 Save 20% Current price is $11.99, Original price is $14.99. You Save 20%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Academy Award winner Sean Penn takes the title role in Gus Van Sant's biopic tracing the last eight years in the life of Harvey Milk, the ill-fated politician and gay activist whose life changed history, and whose courage still inspires people. When Milk was elected to the San Francisco Board of Supervisors in 1977, he made history for being the first openly gay man in American history to be voted into public office. But the rights of homosexuals weren't Milk's primary concern, as tellingly evidenced by the wide array of political coalitions he formed over the course of his tragically brief career. He fought for everyone from union workers to senior citizens, a true hero of human rights who possessed nothing but compassion for his fellow man. The story begins in New York City, where a 40-year-old Milk ponders what steps he can take to make his life more meaningful. Eventually, Milk makes the decision to relocate to the West Coast, where he and his lover, Scott Smith (James Franco), found a small business in the heart of a working-class neighborhood. Empowered by his love for the Castro neighborhood and the success of his business, Castro Camera, Milk somewhat unexpectedly begins to emerge as an outspoken agent for change. With a growing support system that includes both Scott and a like-minded young activist named Cleve Jones (Emile Hirsch), the charismatic Milk decides to take a fateful leap into politics, eventually developing a reputation as a leader who isn't afraid to follow up his words with actions. In short order, he is elected supervisor for the newly zoned District 5, though this seeming triumph is in fact the catalyst for a tragedy that starts to unfold as Milk does his best to forge a political partnership with Dan White (Josh Brolin), another newly elected supervisor. Over time it becomes apparent that Milk and White's political agendas are directly at odds, a revelation that puts their personal destinies on a catastrophic collision course.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/10/2009
UPC: 0025195048972
Original Release: 2008
Rating: R
Source: Focus Features
Presentation: [Wide Screen, Color]
Sound: [Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround]
Time: 2:09:00
Sales rank: 59,971

Special Features

Deleted scenes; Remembering Harvey; Hollywood comes to San Francisco; Marching for equality

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Sean Penn Harvey Milk
Emile Hirsch Cleve Jones
Josh Brolin Dan White
Diego Luna Jack Lira
James Franco Scott Smith
Alison Pill Anne Kronenberg
Victor Garber Mayor Moscone
Denis O'Hare John Briggs
Joseph Cross Dick Pabich
Stephen Spinella Rick Stokes
Lucas Grabeel Danny Nicoletta
Brandon Boyce Jim Rivaldo
Zvi Howard Rosenman David Goodstein
Kelvin Yu Michael Wong
Jeff Koons Art Agnos
Ted Jan Roberts Dennis Peron
Robert Boyd Holbrook Denton Smith
Frank M. Robinson Himself
Allan Baird Himself
Tom Ammiano Himself
Carol Ruth Silver Thelma
Hope Goblirsch Mary Ann White
Steven Wiig McConnelly
Ashlee Temple Dianne Feinstein
Wendy King Carol Ruth Silver
Kelvin Han Yee Gordon Lau
Robert Chimento Phil Burton
Ginabel Machado Lily

Technical Credits
Gus Van Sant Director
Charley Beal Art Director
Dustin Lance Black Executive Producer,Screenwriter
Bruce Cohen Producer
Danny Elfman Score Composer
Daniel Glicker Costumes/Costume Designer
Elliot Graham Editor
Bill Groom Production Designer
Barbara Hall Executive Producer
William Horberg Executive Producer
David J. Webb Asst. Director
Dan Jinks Producer
Michael London Executive Producer
Francine Maisler Casting
Chad Owens Set Decoration/Design
Bruna Papandrea Executive Producer
Harris Savides Cinematographer

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Milk
1. Being Discrete (Main Titles) [6:37]
2. Running for Office [6:16]
3. Taste of Power [5:13]
4. Running for Office [5:40]
5. Part of Movement [4:59]
6. We Have to Fight [6:04]
7. Evil Forces [6:03]
8. Into the Streets [3:57]
9. Rules Have Changed [2:13]
10. Ring in the New [6:57]
11. Elected Supervisor [6:18]
12. Gaining Allies [5:05]
13. A Dangerous Threat [4:02]
14. Coming Out [5:38]
15. Making Peace [1:21]
16. Cleaning Up [3:41]
17. Here to Recruit You [8:42]
18. Keep on Fighting [8:54]
19. Hope Is Alive [8:39]
20. Epilogue (End Titles) [13:45]

Customer Reviews