Miss Mend

Miss Mend

Director: Fedor Ozep Cast: Igor Ilyinsky, Natalya Glan, Vladimir Fogel


$56.48 $59.99 Save 6% Current price is $56.48, Original price is $59.99. You Save 6%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, October 29


As co-directed by Fedor Ozep and Boris Barnet, the 1926 Russian silent picture Miss Mend (also known as The Adventures of the Three Reporters) constitutes an epic-length saga adapted from a 1923 pulp novel. The original work credits the author as an American, "Jim Dollar" though this was actually a pseudonym for a Russian woman, Marietta Shaginian). The film embodied a local response against the experimental cinema of Soviet directors such as Sergei Eisenstein and Dziga Vertov, and an attempt to emulate fast-paced American serials featuring such stars as Douglas Fairbanks, Sr. and Pearl White. The story, partially set in an imagined America dominated by cutting-edge technology and new social structures, comments on such issues as wealth, violence, racism and rape, in its tale of Vivian Mend, an urban professional who earns a living and raises her only child sans the help of any man, and three reporters who attempt to stop a biological attack on the U.S.S.R. by several unsavory Western industrialists. This set contains the surviving four hours of footage from the original serial, newly remastered and restored by David Shepard.

Product Details

Release Date: 12/08/2009
UPC: 0617311674594
Original Release: 1926
Rating: NR
Source: Flicker Alley
Region Code: 0
Presentation: [B&W]
Sound: [silent]
Time: 4:45:00
Sales rank: 48,524

Cast & Crew

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Miss Mend
1. Strike! [6:09]
2. A Stranger to the Rescue [5:33]
3. Dreaming of Miss Mend [5:49]
4. The Live Corpse [9:19]
5. The Dead Man's Letter [10:51]
6. The Deceptive Inheritance [6:25]
7. Flowers and Photographs [6:12]
8. The Empty Coffin [7:44]
9. Paralyzed By Corruption [5:05]
10. The Notary's Last Ride [9:17]
11. The Counterfeit Will [6:59]
12. The Secret Heir [8:40]
1. Assassins and Kidnappers [11:48]
2. A Deadly Experiment [4:49]
3. Blackout at the Mansion [8:14]
4. Organization of Evil [6:53]
5. Marked For Murder [7:08]
6. The Poisened Apple [8:03]
7. Death of an Innocent [4:26]
8. Chasing the Torpedo [9:13]
9. Impostors and Stowaways [6:58]
10. Foreigners In Leningrad [7:37]
11. Outbreak! [8:24]
12. The Plague Ship [3:34]
Disc #2 -- Miss Mend
1. Duel at the Factory [6:54]
2. Quarantine [6:31]
3. Hypnotized! [9:16]
4. The Truth About Stern [5:50]
5. Road Rally [5:55]
6. Prisoners of Evil [5:20]
7. Life on the Streets [8:20]
8. In the Name of Science [8:18]
9. Doomed! [8:52]
10. Chiche's Fate [6:16]
11. The Continuing Adventures of Three Reporters [2:48]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews