Moss Rose

Moss Rose

Norman Ainsley
Director: Gregory Ratoff Cast: Norman Ainsley
Norman Ainsley
, Peggy Cummins
Peggy Cummins
, Harry Allen
Harry Allen
Gregory Ratoff


Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


A woman trying to solve the mystery of a friend's murder finds that she may be the next victim in this suspense story set in turn-of-the-century London. Belle Adair (Peggy Cummins) is a struggling showgirl willing to use her charms to snare an eligible bachelor. When her roommate is murdered, Belle's suspicions turn to Michael Drego (Victor Mature), the wealthy but mysterious gentlemen whom the late woman had been dating. Belle pulls some strings and gets an invitation to dine at the estate that Michael shares with his mother, Lady Sterling (Ethel Barrymore); she learns that Michael has a new fiancée, Audrey (Patricia Medina). When Audrey later dies under suspicious circumstances, Inspector Clinner (Vincent Price) from Scotland Yard is assigned to investigate, and he finds himself protecting Belle when the murderer begins following her trail. Keep an eye peeled for horror movie great George Zucco, who plays Craxton.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/08/2013
UPC: 0024543892861
Original Release: 1947
Rating: NR
Source: Fox Mod
Presentation: [B&W]
Time: 1:21:00
Sales rank: 35,115

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Norman Ainsley Deputy Coroner
Peggy Cummins Belle Adair
Harry Allen Threadbare Man
Victor Mature Michael Drego
Ethel Barrymore Lady Sterling
Billy Bevan White Horse Cabby
Vincent Price Inspector Clinner
Clifford Brooke Chemist
Margo Woode Daisy Arrow
Colin Campbell Art Gallery Attendant
Patricia Medina Audrey Ashton
Leonard Carey Coroner
Michael Dyne Assistant Hotel Manager
Paul England Pub Owner
Al Ferguson Constable
Alex Frazer Mr. Bulke
John W. Goldsworthy Minister
Alec Harford Cassian
Sam Harris Family Solicitor
Stuart Holmes Pompous English Colonel
Connie Leon Seamstress
Stanley Mann Footman
Charles McNaughton Alf
Pat O'Moore George Gilby
Felippa Rock Liza
John Rogers Fothergill
Carol Savage Harriett
Rhys Williams Deputy Inspector Evans
Gilbert Wilson Footman
Victor Wood Wilson
George Zucco Craxton
Frank Baker Man Lodger
Russ Clark Constable
Colin Kenny Cab Driver
Tom Moore Foreman in Coroner's Court
Francis Pierlot Train Conductor
Wallace "Scotty" Scott Actor
Sally Shepherd Maid
Gerald Oliver Smith Hotel Desk Clerk
Basil Walker Thompson
Doreen Monroe Woman Lodger

Technical Credits
Gregory Ratoff Director
Niven Busch Screenwriter
David Buttolph Score Composer
James B. Clark Editor
Richard Day Art Director
Paul S. Fox Set Decoration/Design
Jules Furthman Screenwriter
Roger Heman Sound/Sound Designer
Rene Hubert Costumes/Costume Designer
Mark-Lee Kirk Art Director
George Leverett Sound/Sound Designer
Thomas K. Little Set Decoration/Design
Joe MacDonald Cinematographer
Gene Markey Producer
Alfred Newman Musical Direction/Supervision
Ben Nye Makeup
Tom Reed Screenwriter
Fred Sersen Special Effects
Edwin B. Willis Set Decoration/Design

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Moss Rose
1. Chapter 1 [10:00]
2. Chapter 2 [10:00]
3. Chapter 3 [10:00]
4. Chapter 4 [10:00]
5. Chapter 5 [10:00]
6. Chapter 6 [10:00]
7. Chapter 7 [10:00]
8. Chapter 8 [10:00]
9. Chapter 9 [1:42]

Customer Reviews