My Mother's Courage

My Mother's Courage


Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


My Mother's Courage

This drama, set during WWII, was co-written by acclaimed playwright George Tabori and features the writer as both narrator and an observer during the filming of incidents from his mother's life. Elsa Tabori (Pauline Collins) is a polite and dignified woman who believes that if you do as you're told, things will work out for you. However, she lives in Budapest in the midst of Nazi occupation, and Elsa's optimism hardly seems practical when one is forced to wear a yellow Star of David. When Elsa witnesses the grim fate of Maria (Natalie Morse), a gentile who made the mistake of visiting a Jewish friend as the police were rounding up victims to be shipped to a concentration camp, she discovers that cooperation is no guarantee of safety -- and that she must find a way to save herself before she's sent to her death. Fate, however, soon intercedes in an unexpected display of benevolence. This was director Michael Verhoeven's third film concerning the holocaust in Europe, following Das Schreckliche Madchen and Eine Unheilige Liebe.

Product Details

Release Date: 02/13/2007
UPC: 0066805307775
Original Release: 1995
Rating: NR
Source: Bfs Entertainment
Time: 1:29:00

Special Features

Cast profiles

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Pauline Collins Elsa Tabori
Ulrich Tukur Nazi Offizier
Natalie Morse Maria
Heribert Sasse Kellerman
Robert Giggenbach Cornelius Tabori
Buddy Elias Rabbi
Gunther Bothur Moustache
George Tabori Himself
Simon Verhoeven Actor

Technical Credits
Michael Verhoeven Director,Producer,Screenwriter
Theo Bierkens Cinematographer
Michael Epp Cinematographer
David Freeman Editor
Michelle Guish Asst. Director,Casting
Veit Heiduschka Producer
Rosemarie Hettmann Costumes/Costume Designer
Wolfgang Hundhammer Production Designer
James Mitchell Producer
Julian Nott Score Composer
Johannes Rommel Sound/Sound Designer
George Tabori Screenwriter
Simon Verhoeven Score Composer

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- My Mother's Courage
2. Budapest 1944 [11:36]
3. Deceived [5:25]
4. Herded [7:18]
5. Sorted [7:50]
6. Taken by Mistake [6:21]
7. Packed & Shipped [6:34]
8. Deprived [7:07]
9. "Scientific" Inquiry [4:21]
10. Traumatized [6:43]
11. Everyone Is Someone [8:34]
12. A Frightful Story [5:00]
13. No Forgiveness [8:56]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews