DVD (Wide Screen)

$14.25 $14.99 Save 5% Current price is $14.25, Original price is $14.99. You Save 5%.
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Monday, October 1?   Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Shipping at checkout.


My Young Auntie

In a change from the usual action film, this story starts with the marriage of a young, uptight female martial-arts champion, Cheng Tai-nun (Hui Ying-hung) to an elderly and very wealthy landowner. The marriage is in name only, and takes place at the wishes of the old man expressly to keep his estate from falling into the greedy and unscrupulous hands of his brother. Tai-nun inherits his estate when he dies, and is soon in Canton, staying with her older nephew by marriage, Yu Cheng-chuan (Liu Chia-liang), and his young and attractive son Yu Tao (Hsia Hou). When the traditional and conservative Tai-nun, a woman from the provinces, runs into the modern and Westernized Yu Tao for the first time, the sparks fly and the comedy of cultural clashes begins. As the relationship between the two young protagonists of the old versus the new takes its own jaunty course, the evil brother steals the deed to the dead husband's estate, and the action begins. Tai-nun gets to showcase her martial-arts talents, as her views of the world slowly begin to change.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/19/2007
UPC: 0796019799638
Original Release: 1981
Rating: R
Source: Weinstein Company
Region Code: 1
Presentation: [Wide Screen]
Time: 2:04:00
Sales rank: 32,843

Special Features

Interviews with star Kara Hui; Feature commentary by film critics Andy Klein and Elvis Mitchell; Interview with film scholars David Chute and Andy Klein; Stills gallery; Trailer gallery; Commenatator biographies

Cast & Crew

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- My Young Auntie
1. Two Favors [3:53]
2. Main Titles [2:14]
3. Meeting Auntie [3:33]
4. Routing Rascals [2:51]
5. Uncle's Will [6:03]
6. Charlie Comes Home [6:50]
7. Family Disciple [4:31]
8. Higher [4:30]
9. A Trip to Town [6:37]
10. Plotting Payback [4:13]
11. Charlie's Invitation [5:16]
12. Masquerade Ball [4:54]
13. Univited Guest [8:07]
14. The Police Arrive [2:54]
15. False Arrest [2:54]
16. Stolen Deeds [2:38]
17. Gathering the Uncles [3:42]
18. Training [3:03]
19. Entering the Compound [6:11]
20. Stay Behind Me [5:26]
21. Attack His Privates [7:55]
22. Uncles to the Rescue [6:11]
23. Hard Qi Gong [5:38]
24. Sign the Deeds [8:59]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews