Item is available through our marketplace sellers.



In the home-video release Napoli, the Royal Danish Ballet performs choreographer August Bournonville's titular three-act ballet at the Royal Theatre in Copenhagen. Bournonville originally culled inspiration for the work from a trip to Naples at the behest of his friend Hans Christian Andersen; it tells the story of the fisherman Gennaro and his paramour, Teresina. Kirsten Ralov directs this production of the work, utilizing Bournonville's original choreography. It stars Arne Villumsen as Gennaro; Linda Hindberg as Teresina; Mona Jensen as Veronica, Teresina's mother; Tommy Frishøi as the monk Fra Ambrosio; Fredbjørn Bjørnson as the macaroni seller Giacorno; and Annemarie Dybdal as Giavanina. The Royal Danish Orchestra, under the baton of Peter Ernst Lassen, provides musical accompaniment.

Product Details

Release Date: 07/25/2006
UPC: 0032031408395
Source: Kultur Video
Region Code: 1
Sound: [Dolby Digital Stereo]
Time: 1:37:00

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Napoli
1. The Quayside in Naples [6:54]
2. Veronica Consents to Her Daughter's Betrothal [3:28]
3. Fra Ambrosio Begs for Alms [6:16]
4. The Townspeople Dance [7:16]
5. Street Entertainment [6:23]
6. Teresina Is Missing [6:16]
7. The Blue Grotto [10:33]
8. Teresina Repulses Golfo's Advances [4:23]
9. Gennaro Rescues Teresina [7:48]
10. Gennaro and Teresina Escape [3:35]
11. Fra Ambrosio Explains the Escape [4:21]
12. Pas De Six [14:55]
13. Tarantella [6:58]
14. Finale [6:10]
15. Credits [2:04]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews