Nina's Heavenly Delights

Nina's Heavenly Delights

Director: Pratibha Parmar Cast: Laura Fraser, Art Malik, Ronny Jhutti

DVD (Wide Screen)

Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


Nina's Heavenly Delights

A woman comes to terms with her sexuality while trying to save the family business in this flavorful romantic comedy. Nina Shah (Shelley Conn) is the daughter of an Indian expatriate family who settled in Glasgow and run an Indian restaurant, the New Taj Mahal. While Nina was always close to her father, when he insisted she wed a man she didn't love as part of an arranged marriage, she left Glasgow and began a new life in London. However, word of her father's passing brings her back to Glasgow to look after her mother and help run the New Taj. Nina learns that the restaurant is deep in debt and needs a sharp increase in business if it's to stay open; shortly before his death, her father arranged for the New Taj to take part in a televised cooking competition to find the best Indian food in Glasgow, and so Nina and the restaurant's head chef, Lisa (Laura Fraser), are on the spot to come up with something special. As Nina and Lisa spend many hours in the kitchen together, they begin to develop a personal relationship as spicy as anything on the menu. While Nina tries to decide how to explain her new romance to her family, she finds emotional support from her very out-of-the-closet friend, Bobbi (Ronny Jhutti), and her younger sister, who has developed a passion for Scottish folk dancing. But Nina's effort to save the New Taj may become a grudge match when she learns that her biggest competition comes from a new eatery run by Sanjay (Raji James), the man Nina refused to marry. Nina's Heavenly Delights also stars Art Malik as Sanjay's father.

Product Details

Release Date: 04/22/2008
UPC: 0858423001339
Original Release: 2006
Rating: PG-13
Source: Here
Region Code: 1
Presentation: [Wide Screen]
Sound: [Dolby Digital Stereo]
Time: 1:34:00

Special Features

Making of featurette; Production commentary; Photo gallery

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Laura Fraser Lisa MacKinlay
Art Malik Raj Khanna
Ronny Jhutti Bobbi
Veena Sood Suman Shah
Shelley Conn Nina Shah
Atta Yaqub Kary Shah
Zoe Henretty Priya Shah
Raji James Sanjay Khanna
Elaine C. Smith Auntie Mamie
Rita Wolf Auntie Tumi
Kathleen McDermott Janice
Kulvinder Ghir TV Presenter
Hritika Thaker Young Nina
Kavita Dass Bollywood Bowl Child
Tariq Mullan Ravi
Adam Sinclair Fish, A Chutney Queen
Francisco Bosch Shriv, A Chutney Queen
Umar Ahmed Ghandi, A Chutney Queen
Raad Rawi Mohan
Gillian J. Anderson Bollywood Dancer
Lynne Anderson Bollywood Dancer
Rebecca Green Bollywood Dancer
Lynsey Hatfield Bollywood Dancer
Maggs McMahon Bollywood Dancer

Technical Credits
Pratibha Parmar Director,Original Story,Producer
Jeff Abberley Executive Producer
Louise Allen Costumes/Costume Designer
Chris Atkins Producer
Wouter Barendrecht Co-producer
Julia Blackman Executive Producer
Bryony Blake Makeup
Amy Buchanan Makeup
Claire Chapman Executive Producer
Patrick Conroy Asst. Director
Megan Davis Associate Producer
Simon Dennis Cinematographer
Ann Fenton Makeup
Mary Finlay Editor
Andrea Gibb Screenwriter
Piers Gielgud Choreography
Andy Harris Production Designer
Margaret Horspool Art Director
Trea Hoving Associate Producer
Steve Isles Score Composer
Colin Leventhal Executive Producer
Jacqui Mallet Makeup
Margaret Matheson Executive Producer
Fiona McBlane Musical Direction/Supervision
Bobby McCulla Costumes/Costume Designer
Scott Meek Executive Producer
Neil Chordia Associate Producer
Marion Pilowsky Producer
Springheel Jack & Joi Score Composer
Nicole Tulloch Makeup
Vincent Watts Sound/Sound Designer
Michael J. Werner Co-producer

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Nina's Heavenly Delights
1. Cooking [5:19]
2. 3 Years [4:14]
3. The Sale [2:26]
4. Good Morning Glasgow [4:11]
5. My First Day [3:32]
6. Fancy a Beer? [6:09]
7. No Secrets [5:34]
8. Not for Sale [5:06]
9. Chemistry [5:17]
10. Something Missing [4:06]
11. At the Club [5:53]
12. The Kitchen [1:52]
13. I've Got to Go [5:02]
14. Ready [7:44]
15. Follow Your Heart [4:33]
16. It's Yours [2:07]
17. I'm Married [9:49]
18. Hurry Up [11:16]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews