Norwegian Wood

Norwegian Wood

Kenichi Matsuyama
Director: Tran Anh Hung Cast: Kenichi Matsuyama
Kenichi Matsuyama
, Rinko Kikuchi
Rinko Kikuchi
, Kiko Mizuhara
Kiko Mizuhara
Tran Anh Hung




Celebrated Vietnamese director Tran Anh Hung (The Scent of Green Papaya) mounted and helms this ambitious adaptation of Haruki Murakami's nostalgic 1987 novel. The story unfolds in 1967 Tokyo and concerns Watanabe, a devoted college student with a marked degree of uncertainty about how he should approach relationships. He falls into reciprocal love with Naoko, a stunning and intelligent young woman from his high-school years, but their relationship is perpetually haunted by a tragic event from the past -- the death of best friend Kizuki years prior. Watanabe cannot shake the influence of death, while Naoko senses that some vital part of her is now permanently lost and irretrievable. On the night that Naoko turns 20, she and Watanabe make love, but she soon drops out of college and inexplicably disappears from the young man's life. At about the same time, he meets Midori, an incredible young woman who seems to possess everything that Naoko lacked.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/27/2018
UPC: 0767685157466
Original Release: 2010
Rating: NR
Source: Cinedigm Mod
Time: 2:13:00

Special Features

The making of Norwegian Wood; Venice featurette

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Kenichi Matsuyama Watanabe
Rinko Kikuchi Naoko
Kiko Mizuhara Midori
Reika Kirishima Reiko Ishida
Kengo Kora Kizuki
Eriko Hatsune Hatsumi
Tetsuji Tamayama Nagasawa

Technical Credits
Tran Anh Hung Director,Screenwriter
Norifumi Ataka Production Designer
Mario Battistel Editor
Mark Lee Ping Bing Cinematographer
Jonny Greenwood Score Composer
Jo-sei Ikeda Associate Producer
Chihiro Kameyama Executive Producer
Yen Khe Luguern Costumes/Costume Designer,Production Designer
Kaoru Matsuzaki Associate Producer
Shinji Ogawa Producer
Masao Teshima Executive Producer
Tomoharu Urata Sound Mixer

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Norwegian Wood
1. Chapter 1 [11:34]
2. Chapter 2 [12:34]
3. Chapter 3 [5:12]
4. Chapter 4 [11:04]
5. Chapter 5 [14:28]
6. Chapter 6 [13:23]
7. Chapter 7 [15:25]
8. Chapter 8 [11:13]
9. Chapter 9 [8:44]
10. Chapter 10 [9:44]
11. Chapter 11 [10:53]
12. Chapter 12 [9:08]

Customer Reviews