Director: Lavinia Currier Cast: Kris Marshall, Isaach de Bankolé, Peter Riegert

DVD (Wide Screen)

View All Available Formats & Editions
4 New & Used Starting at $1.99


Based on the memoir Last Thoughts Before Vanishing From the Face of the Earth by ethnomusicologist Louis Sarno, Oka! recounts his time spent in the Central African Republic with a tribe known as the Bayaka of Yandombe. Director Lavinia Currier and actors Kris Marshall and Isaach de Bankolé retrace Sarno's efforts to capture the music of the indigenous pygmies, while the tribe tries to balance its traditions with the progress spreading through the Congo.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/22/2013
UPC: 0812491014165
Original Release: 2010
Rating: NR
Source: Well Go Usa
Region Code: 1
Presentation: [Wide Screen]
Sound: [Dolby Digital Stereo, Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround]
Time: 1:45:00

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Kris Marshall Larry Whitman
Isaach de Bankolé Mayor Bassoun
Peter Riegert Doc
Haviland Morris Lydia
Will Yun Lee Mr. Yi
Sebastian Beacon Derek
Bayaka of Yandombe Actor

Technical Credits
Lavinia Currier Director,Producer,Screenwriter
Chris Berry Score Composer
Kristina Boden Editor
Norbert Bogbeyate Co-producer
James Bruce Producer
Cora Currier Costumes/Costume Designer
Andrew Fierberg Executive Producer
Nicolas Gaster Editor
Conrad W. Hall Cinematographer
Lisa Hamil Casting
Wolfgang Held Cinematographer
David Monacchi Sound/Sound Designer
Musicians of Yandombe Score Composer
Louis Sarno Screenwriter
Delphi Squires Score Composer,Costumes/Costume Designer
Suzanne Stroh Screenwriter
Alexandre Vivet Production Designer

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Oka!
1. Sataka, It's Time to Call the White [6:06]
2. Bloody Amazing [7:00]
3. He's the Best Hunter [5:27]
4. Start Up the Pipe [7:03]
5. Mulala! [8:06]
6. Do You Want a Grub? [6:35]
7. I Have Molimo! [8:56]
8. The Forest Can Spin Your Eyes [9:30]
9. There's a Big Cobra in Those Weeds! [10:00]
10. Larry! Larry [6:15]
11. This Forest Will Be Yours [5:37]
12. I Love Meat! [5:07]
13. They are Hunting with Spears [9:04]
14. Let Me Free! [4:49]
15. End Credits [5:03]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews