One Rainy Afternoon

One Rainy Afternoon

Director: Rowland V. Lee Cast: Francis Lederer, Ida Lupino, Hugh Herbert


$6.51 $6.99 Save 7% Current price is $6.51, Original price is $6.99. You Save 7%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Friday, September 29 ,  Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.


One Rainy Afternoon

A remake of the French comedy Monsieur Sans-Gene, One Rainy Afternoon gets under way when film-actor Phillippe Martin (Francis Lederer) heads to a darkened Parisian movie theater for a romantic rendezvous with his married sweetheart Yvonne (Countess Live de Margaret). But our hero sits in the wrong seat and kisses the wrong young lady: Monique Pelerin (Ida Lupino), the daughter of a powerful publisher Joseph Cawthorn. This innocent mistake snowballs into a national scandal, fomented by the hatchet-faced president (Eily Malyon) of the Purity League, with Phillippe earning the onus of "The Kissing Monster." It all culminates in one of those zany courtroom trails which proliferated in screwball comedies of the 1930s, wherein Phillippe defends himself by insisting that it is in a Frenchman's nature to be romantic, even with perfect strangers -- and as a result he becomes an international hero! One Rainy Afternoon was the first of a handful of United Artists talkies personally produced by studio vice-president Mary Pickford.

Product Details

Release Date: 05/26/2009
UPC: 0089218582096
Original Release: 1936
Rating: NR
Source: Alpha Video
Presentation: [B&W]
Time: 1:19:00
Sales rank: 73,023

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Francis Lederer Philippe Martin
Ida Lupino Monique Pelerin
Hugh Herbert Toto
Roland Young Maillot
Erik Rhodes Count Alfredo Donstelli
Joseph Cawthorn M. Pelerin
Donald Meek Judge
Georgia Caine Cecile
Richard Carle Minister of Justice
Mischa Auer Leading Man
Eily Malyon President of Purity League
Ferdinand Munier Prosecutor
Murray Kinnell Theater Manager
Phyllis Barry M. Pelerin's Secretary
Lois January Malliot's Secretary
Iris Adrian Cashier
Billy Gilbert Court Clerk
Florence Lawrence Actor
Eric Mayne Actor
Jack Mulhall Ice Rink Announcer
Francis Powers Actor
Donald Reed Actor
Florence Turner Actor

Technical Credits
Rowland V. Lee Director
Stephen Morehouse Avery Screenwriter
Margaret Clancey Editor
Richard Day Art Director
Merritt B. Gerstad Cinematographer
Maurice Hanline Screenwriter
Omar Kiam Costumes/Costume Designer
Jesse Lasky Producer
J. Peverell Marley Cinematographer
Alfred Newman Score Composer,Musical Direction/Supervision
Mary Pickford Producer
Arnold Pressburger Screenwriter
Rene Pujol Original Story
Harry Tobias Songwriter

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- One Rainy Afternoon
2. Chapter 1 [12:05]
3. Chapter 2 [13:01]
4. Chapter 3 [12:57]
5. Chapter 4 [12:52]
6. Chapter 5 [13:12]
7. Chapter 6 [13:31]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews