Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


Opening Night

John Cassavetes' Opening Night stars Gena Rowlands (Mrs. Cassavetes) as end-of-tether Broadway actress Myrtle Gordon. She is about to open in a play written by her old friend Sarah Goode (Joan Blondell), but a series of pre-show setbacks and disasters threaten to destroy not only the production but Myrtle's sanity. The actress is especially rattled when one of her staunchest fans dies in an accident. In the face of bleak reality, just how important is the old "show must go on" ethic? Supporting Gena Rowlands are such veterans of the New York-Hollywood shuttle as Ben Gazzara, Zohra Lampert, Paul Stewart, James Karen, and several friends and relatives of the principals.

Product Details

Release Date: 04/14/1998
UPC: 0013023002791
Original Release: 1977
Rating: NR
Source: Geneon [Pioneer]
Time: 2:24:00

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Gena Rowlands Myrtle Gordon
Ben Gazzara Manny Victor
John Cassavetes Maurice Aarons
Joan Blondell Sarah Goode
Paul Stewart David Samuels
Zohra Lampert Dorothy Victor
Laura Johnson Nancy Stein
John Tuell Gus Simmons
Ray Powers Jimmy
John Finnegan Prop Man
Louise Fitch Kelly
Frederick Draper Leo
Katherine Cassavetes Vivian
Lady Rowlands Melva Drake
Sherry Bain Bartender
Jimmy Christie Shirley
Peter Falk Actor
Angelo Grisanti Charlie Spikes
James Karen Newsstand Operator
Peter Bogdanovich Actor
Meade Roberts Eddie Stein
Eleanor Zee Sylvia Stein
Booker T. Jones Conductor

Technical Credits
John Cassavetes Director,Screenwriter
Tom Cornwell Editor
Alexandra Corwin-Hankin Costumes/Costume Designer
Frederick Elmes Cinematographer
Bo Harwood Score Composer,Sound/Sound Designer
Booker T. Jones Musical Arrangement,Musical Direction/Supervision
Michael Lally Associate Producer
Charlie Picerni Stunts
Al Ruban Cinematographer,Producer
Bryan Ryman Production Designer
Sam Shaw Producer

Scene Index

Side #1
0. Chapters
1. Rainy Encounter [14:17]
2. 4:30am [5:46]
3. Lost Reality [11:43]
4. The Wake [5:06]
5. It's Only a Play [12:36]
6. I Don't Care How Old She Is [13:23]
7. Haunted [14:26]
Side #2 --
0. Chapters
1. The Séance [11:12]
2. The Second Woman [13:55]
3. Opening Night [21:16]
4. Off Book [20:26]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews