Operation Homecoming: Writing the Wartime Experience

Operation Homecoming: Writing the Wartime Experience

DVD (Color / Wide Screen)

View All Available Formats & Editions

Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


Operation Homecoming: Writing the Wartime Experience

Using a project initiated by the National Endowment of the Arts as a launching point to explore the wartime experiences of those who have fought on the front lines of Iraq and Afghanistan, filmmaker Richard E. Robbins offers a humanizing study of the soldiers who have suffered through the de-humanization of war. As letters from the soldiers are read by such actors as Aaron Eckhart, Robert Duvall, Beau Bridges, and Josh Lucas, the writings emerge as an honest examination of resounding personal effects that war can have on the men and women of America's armed forces. Over the course of the NEA project, over 1600 pieces of writing including poetry, fiction, and essays were collected - some uplifting, others devastating. The one constant factor in every letter, however, was an unguarded veracity that rings true with undeniable intensity. In using archival news footage and animated still photographs, Robbins strives to avoid the pitfalls of unwieldy reenactments and keep the viewer focused on the written word. Additional conversations with such renowned authors as Tobias Wolff, Tom O'Brien, and James Salter offer additional depth and analysis by presenting a broad look at the prevalent themes of war literature.

Product Details

Release Date: 05/15/2007
UPC: 0841887008518
Original Release: 2007
Rating: NR
Source: Pbs (Direct)
Region Code: 1
Presentation: [Wide Screen]
Sound: [Dolby Digital Stereo]
Time: 1:00:00

Special Features

Discussion guide PDF

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Brian Marshall Turner Participant
Jack Lewis Participant
Han Sangjoon Participant
Ed Hrivnak Participant
John McCary Participant
Mike Strobl Participant
Colby Buzzell Participant
Tim O'Brien Participant
Joe Haldeman Participant
James Salter Participant
Yusef Komunyakaa Participant
Paul Fussell Participant
Anthony Swofford Participant
Tobias Wolff Participant
Richard Currey Participant
Beau Bridges Voice Only
Robert Duvall Voice Only
Aaron Eckhart Voice Only
Blair Underwood Voice Only
Christopher Gorham Voice Only
John Krasinski Voice Only
Josh Lucas Voice Only
Justin Kirk Voice Only

Technical Credits
Richard E. Robbins Director,Producer,Screenwriter
Talleah Bridges Associate Producer
Ben Decter Score Composer
Jason Ellson Cinematographer
Adam Hyman Co-producer
Kristin Lesko Co-producer
Sam Londe Sound/Sound Designer
Gillian McCarthy Editor
Tom Yellin Executive Producer

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Operation Homecoming
1. Introduction [2:27]
2. What Every Soldier Should Know [6:42]
3. Angry Men in Black [6:17]
4. Just Kill Me Now [5:03]
5. Camp Muckamungus [6:31]
6. Aftermath [6:07]
7. War is a Bloody, Ugly Mess [9:06]
8. Only the Dead Have Seen the End of War [7:23]
9. Taking Chance Phelps Home [5:09]
10. Credits [1:22]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews