Item is available through our marketplace sellers.



This DVD boasts interactive menus with a cool bit of animation and music that keeps to the off-kilter tone of the film. In fact, the disc starts off with an audio bite of Donald Sutherland's quote that is the core of the dysfunctional family's problem. The 16 x 9 widescreen presentation is nice, presenting Bromell's painstaking compositions at their best. The 2.0 Dolby Surround isn't required by the sound design as much as one might like, but it is loud and clear. There are several justifiably deleted scenes (including a long version of the Neve Campbell seduction scene), cast and crew text bios, and the theatrical trailer. Best, though, is Henry Bromell's end-to-end commentary, in which he describes to which particular European director he was paying homage in various scenes and points out the symbolism that might escape viewers during a cursory viewing.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/19/2001
UPC: 0012236117278
Original Release: 2000
Rating: R
Source: Live / Artisan
Region Code: 1
Presentation: [Wide Screen]
Sound: [Dolby Surround]
Time: 1:33:00

Special Features

Commentary by director Henry Bromell; 16 x 9 widescreen version; Deleted scenes; Trailer; Cast and crew information; Digitally mastered; Scene access; Interactive menus

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
William H. Macy Alex
John Ritter Josh Parks
Neve Campbell Sarah
Donald Sutherland Michael
Tracey Ullman Martha
Barbara Bain Deidre
David Dorfman Sammy

Technical Credits
Henry Bromell Director
Matthew Barry Casting
Dan Bishop Production Designer
Dan Bradford Art Director
Matt Cooper Producer
David Cooper Executive Producer
Jody Hediem Co-producer
Jeffrey Jur Cinematographer
Lynzee Klingman Editor
Andrew Lazar Producer
Susan Matheson Costumes/Costume Designer
Lori Miller Producer
Cindy Mollo Editor
Carol Dunn Trussell Associate Producer
Brian Tyler Score Composer
Ed White Sound/Sound Designer

Scene Index

Side #1
0. Scene Index
1. Panic [2:14]
2. First Day in Therapy [2:33]
3. Confessions [3:23]
4. In a Rut [2:36]
5. Questions from a Child [2:12]
6. A Week's Worth of Tragedies [2:49]
7. Looking Good [1:55]
8. Plans for the Future [2:18]
9. Riding the Elevator [2:07]
10. A Beautiful Young Thing [3:01]
11. The Family Business [2:18]
12. Restless Night [1:26]
13. More Information [1:46]
14. Casual Conversation [2:00]
15. Having Fun [2:31]
16. Unhappy [3:59]
17. Family Involvement [2:00]
18. Shopping [1:54]
19. Unexpected Visitor [2:30]
20. Acting Strange [1:42]
21. Learning the Business [3:38]
22. The Park [3:33]
23. A Special Treat [3:00]
24. Quitting the Business [1:29]
25. The Rules [3:13]
26. Uncomfortable Moment [6:02]
27. Jealous, Middle-Aged Housewife [2:33]
28. The Next Generation [3:16]
29. Freeing Himself [2:02]
30. Making Progress [2:40]
31. Innocence [3:14]
32. End Credits [1:30]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews